2021-2022 Squads & Teams

“The belief in myself, my team, our preparation and our country”

NZ Black Fins


The SLSNZ High Performance Squad (‘HP Squad’) is where New Zealand representative teams are generally selected.  Selection into the HP Squad is made according to the SLSNZ Squads and New Zealand Team Selection Policy.

Download the printable verson of the Pool Rescue and Ocean Updates and Information here.


Applications for Selection for pool rescue athletes closed 4 October 2021.

Selection Events:

With ongoing uncertainty affecting event and training schedules due to COVID-19 restrictions, two additional Pool Rescue selection events have been added to give all athletes the sufficient opportunity to be selected. 

All athletes are still strongly encouraged to compete at National Pool Rescue Championships (COVID Restrictions permitting) as it remains a key selection event.  The extended selection period aims to accommodate athletes who have been highly impacted by prolonged lockdown (i.e. Auckland based athletes).

Athletes still have to have completed their Application for Selection by 4 October 2021.

  1. Eastern Region Pool Championships: 9-10 October, Rotorua
  2. National Pool Rescue Championships: 29 – 31 October, Hamilton
  3. Additional Selection event #1: 11-12 December, National Aquatic Centre, Auckland
  4. Additional Selection event #2: 22-23 January, National Aquatic Centre, Auckland

Additional Pool Rescue Selection Event #1 Programme

Saturday 11th December 2021

Time:    5.00pm – 8.00pm

Events: 200 obstacles, 100 tow, 50 carry & Relay splits

Sunday 12th December 2021

Time:    8.00am – 11.00am

Events: 200 super, 100 rescue medley, 100 carry & Relay splits

Additional Pool Rescue Selection Event #2 Programme

Saturday 22 January

Time:    5.00pm – 8.00pm

Events: 200 obstacles, 100 tow, 50 carry & Relay splits

Sunday 23 January 2022

Time:    8.00am – 11.00am

Events: 200 super, 100 rescue medley, 100 carry & Relay splits

Further detailed information will be released 5th October following the close of Applications for Selection.

Selection Announcements

Athletes selected or re-selected to the HP Squad for pool rescue will be announced following the additional selection Event #2.



High Performance Squad Selection Applications:

With continued uncertainty about COVID impact moving forward, Applications for Selection for ocean and beach athletes will open October 2021 and close mid-December. 

All current HP Squad ocean and beach athletes will need to re-apply for selection.

Selection Events:

Athletes and coaches should refer to the Selection Policy Section 10.0 for Selection Events.

As events have been impacted by Government restrictions at very short notice, selectors wish to see athletes at as many events as possible to assist selections. If for example, Nationals and ERCs are postponed or cancelled, major ‘fall back’ selection events could include NRCs and Whangamata Classic.

Similarly, for Australian based athletes, a range of Australian surf lifesaving events are considered for determining selection.

Selection Announcements:

The selection announcement for ocean and beach athletes is planned for post NZ Nationals however; this is subject to change pending COVID disruption and border restrictions. Communication will follow should any changes be required.

Selection Panel

Scott Bartlett, Michelle Mitchell, John Creighton & Daniel Grant

Athlete Agreement:

Please find here the Athlete Agreement Template. All selected athletes will be required to sign the Athlete Agreement.

Enquiries can be directed to the SLSNZ High Performance Manager Tanya.hamilton@surflifesaving.org.nz Mob 027 9472612.



Ocean, Beach & Pool Athletes

  • Aidan Smith, Papamoa
  • Akira Gardiner, Red Beach
  • Astaria Teakura, Mairangi Bay
  • Ava Smith, Wainui
  • Briana Irving, Waikanae
  • Carina Doyle, St Clair
  • Casie Fyall, Waikanae
  • Charlize Menefy, Orewa
  • Che Pulepule, Maranui
  • Chris Dawson, Midway
  • Ciara O'Neill, Red Beach
  • Claudia Kelly, East End
  • Cory Taylor, Midway
  • Daniel Barron, Mount Maunganui
  • Daniel Rippon, Piha
  • Daniel Shanahan, Mount Maunganui
  • Danielle McKenzie, Mairangi Bay
  • Flynn Hamilton, Taylors Mistake
  • George Wenman, Orewa
  • Georgie Pitkethley, Waikanae
  • Gus Shivnan, Omanu
  • Hamish Miller, Mount Maunganui
  • Harrison Bond, Omanu
  • Hayley Cox, Lyall Bay
  • Jack Keepa, Wainui
  • James Scott, Orewa
  • Jarvis Hansen, Taylors Mistake
  • Jayden Murphy, Mount Maunganui
  • Jayke Menefy, Orewa
  • Joe Collins, Fitzroy
  • Josh Goble, East End
  • Kailen Brackebush, Orewa
  • Kalani Gilbertson, Red Beach
  • Kate Rogers, Red Beach
  • Kate Wignall, Orewa
  • Kel Iggulden, Omanu
  • Kendra Stinson, Orewa
  • Lachie Falloon, Waikanae
  • Levi Ata, Piha
  • Lewis Clareburt, Lyall Bay
  • Libby Bradley, Mount Maunganui
  • Lily Pearce, Mount Maunganui
  • Lochlainn O’Connor, Mount Maunganui
  • Louis Clark, Taylors Mistake
  • Lucy Bartlett, Omanu
  • Lucy Makaea , Piha
  • Lucy North, East End
  • Madison Kidd, Whangamata
  • Max Beattie , Omanu
  • Michael Pickett, Waikanae
  • Mike Lee , Mairangi Bay
  • Molly Shivnan, Omanu
  • Natalie Peat , Papamoa
  • Olive Pearce, Mount Maunganui
  • Olivia Corrin , Midway
  • Olivia Eaton , Midway
  • Oscar Williams, Piha
  • Oska Smith, Waikanae
  • Patrick Makgill , Red Beach
  • Pippa Nichol, Lyall Bay
  • Rachel Clarke, Mairangi Bay
  • Raeann Kwan, Orewa
  • Rebecca Barron, Mount Maunganui
  • Sam Brown, Otaki
  • Samuel Poaching, Mairangi Bay
  • Sasha Reid , Fitzroy
  • Scott Cowdrey , Papamoa
  • Seven Mapu, Waikanae
  • Sophie Lynskey , Mount Maunganui
  • Sophie Sandford, Mount Maunganui
  • Steve Kent , Mairangi Bay
  • Summer Rolston, Waikanae
  • Taiko Torepe-Ormsby, Sumner
  • Talitha McEwan, Mount Maunganui
  • Tarquin Magner, Mount Maunganui
  • Thomas MacGibbon, Taylors Mistake
  • Thomas Scott, Omanu
  • Zac Quickenden, South Brighton
  • Zac Reid , Fitzroy
  • Zoe Crawford, Mairangi Bay

Female IRB Crews

  • Taylor Shrimpton, Sunset Beach
  • Abigail Chapman, Sunset Beach

Male IRB Crews

  • Connor Mitchell, Waikanae
  • Oliver  Shivnan, Waikanae
  • Shane Edwards, Sunset Beach
  • Mark   Edwards, Sunset Beach