SLSNZ Announces Surf Lifeguards for 'Ngaru Huhuka' Outward Bound Course

Friday, 5 July 2024


Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) is excited to announce the 13 surf lifeguards selected for its inaugural Outward Bound course.


Named Ngaru Huhuka, the course is tailored to SLSNZ members aged 18-26 years old and aims to improve leadership skills while fostering relationships across Surf Life Saving clubs and regions throughout New Zealand.


Belinda Slement, SLSNZ Education Manager, said, “We are delighted to announce the first wave of leaders heading to the inaugural course.  All the participants are incredible representatives of the Surf Life Saving movement and have diverse experiences in leadership, with some at the start of their journey, and others looking to develop further.”


The 21-day bespoke course will run from 27 August to 16 September and aligns with SLSNZ’s objectives and ethos.


Slement said, “We’ve collaborated closely with Outward Bound to create a unique experience for our members.  From the activities they’ll be doing to the course’s title ‘Ngaru Huhuka – the foaming wave,’ it resonates with our connection to the water and the work we do in protecting beachgoers and our communities.”


Some of the course activities include kayaking, high ropes, rock climbing, tramping, solo experience, and coasteering.  It’s hoped the participants will be able to apply the skills they learn during these experiences in all aspects of their lives.


Slement added, “Operating in the Marlborough Sounds since 1962, Outward Bound has a proven track record of providing invaluable experiences to young Kiwis.  While the course is going to be tough, the participants will grow in confidence and develop great skills.”


Ngaru Huhuka 2024 participants

Benjamin Broughton

East End SLSC

Ben Isles

Sumner SLSC

Colwyn Cations-Velvin

Fitzroy SLSC

Dominic Sutton

Whangamatā SLSC

Emily Joyce

Brighton SLSC

Gabriella Hughes

Tairua SLSC

Georgia Mae Stroud

Taylors Mistake SLSC

Jessica Andrews

Ruakaka SLSP

Luke Kay

Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC

Michael Phillips

Waimairi SLSC

Phoebe Havill

Onemana SLSC

Piper Sterling

Baylys Beach SLS

Shea Lenaghan

Ōtaki SLSC