Surf Life Saving Taranaki Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

Tuesday, 23 May 2023

The finalists for Surf Life Saving New Zealand’s (SLSNZ) Taranaki Awards of Excellence have been announced.


These awards not only recognise the outstanding skills, commitment, and effort put in by individuals to safeguard beachgoers, but also acknowledge those who have trained others, managed administration, and competed in surf sports throughout the 2022/23 season.


Charlie Cordwell, SLSNZ Central Region Manager, said, “It was a busy season for our Taranaki teams as warm weather saw hundreds of people flock to the regions beaches.  But, like always, their dedication ensured others were kept safe with zero drownings between the flags.”


The SLSNZ Taranaki Awards of Excellence will bring together members from Opunake Surf Life Saving Club (SLSC), New Plymouth Old Boys SLSC, East End SLSC, Wanganui SLSC, and Fitzroy SLSC.


Cordwell said, “It will be a great night celebrating the remarkable individuals who consistently go above and beyond every season.  The judging process will be challenging since all the nominees have left a big mark on their clubs and communities.  Congratulations to everyone for their outstanding work, whether it was on patrol, within the club, or while competing in sports.”


This year’s awards ceremony will take place on June 2nd at The Devon Hotel in New Plymouth.


Full list of finalists:


Instructor of the Year

Aimee Leigh - Opunake

Anna Beavis - Fitzroy

Dean Spicer - NPOB

Hywel Davies - East End


Lifeguard of the Year

Dean Spicer – NPOB

Joe Edwards – Opunake

Max Toa – Fitzroy


U19 Sportswoman of the Year

Bella Pivac – Opunake

Emma Brimelow – Fitzroy

Riley Grylls – NPOB

Tara Shotter – East End


U19 Sportsman of the Year

Daniel Callebaut – East End

Jerram Sinclair – Opunake

Logan Smith – NPOB


Sportsman of the Year

Fletcher Moles – East End

Joe Collins – Fitzroy


Sportswoman of the Year

Claudia Kelly – East End

Jordan Grylls – Opunake


U19 Sports Team of the Year

East End U17 Male Relay Team – East End

Fitzroy U19 Male Double Ski Team – Fitzroy


Sports Team of the Year

East End Open Female Pool Rescue Relay Team – East End


Coach of the Year

Amelia Riddick – Fitzroy

Anthony Ander – NPOB

Joel Mueli – East End


Surf Official of the Year

Andrew Sorensen – Fitzroy

Glen Rankin – Opunake

Melanie Visser – East End

Pip Dinnison – NPOB


Innovation of the Year

East End Junior Skills Development Programme – East End


Volunteer of the Year

Francie O’Sullivan – NPOB

Julia Johnston – East End


Michael Taylor Award

Ben Nelson – NPOB

Emma Brimelow – Fitzroy

Hayden Corkin – East End


Overall Sportsperson of the Year

Joe Collins – Fitzroy


Overall Sports Team of the Year

East End Open Female Pool Rescue Relay Team – East End