Capital Coast Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

Tuesday, 16 May 2023

Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) is proud to announce the finalists for its Capital Coast Awards of Excellence, recognising the outstanding contribution and dedication of its members throughout the 2022/23 season.


The awards celebrate not only the bravery and commitment of those on the front lines ensuring the safety of beachgoers, but also those who have worked tirelessly behind the scenes, managing administration, training others and participating in surf sports.


SLSNZ’s Central Regional Manager Charlie Cordwell said, “Our Capital coast teams had a busy season keeping New Zealanders safe.  They patrolled beaches and responded to a state of emergency following Cyclone Gabrielle which devastated many communities in the North Island earlier this year.  The amount of time and effort that they invested is truly inspiring”.


The awards will bring together Surf Life Saving Clubs from across the North Island, including Palmerston North, Riversdale, Foxton, Levin/Waitārere, Ōtaki, Paekākāriki, Titahi Bay, Maranui, Lyall Bay and Worser Bay.


Cordwell said, “It’s great to see so many deserving finalists being recognized for their dedication and service to the community. They embody the spirit of SLSNZ and we are excited to celebrate their achievements and announce the winners at the upcoming awards”.


This year’s awards ceremony will take place on May 27th at 5:30pm at Mana Cruising Club in Porirua.



Full List of Finalists:


Coach of the Year

Ben Manners - Lyall Bay

Hayley Cudby- Foxton

Simon Butcher - Maranui

Steve Dickson - Paekākāriki

Tim Marsden - Titahi Bay


Innovation of the Year

Lyall Bay, Worser Bay and Maranui - combined Nomination


Instructor of the Year

Ally Jones - Paekākāriki

Cam Richardson - Lyall Bay

Holly Reynolds - Maranui

Isaac van der Vossen - Foxton

Mike Taylor - Riversdale

Tayne McMahon - Titahi Bay


Lifeguard of the Year

Ben Strombom - Paekākāriki

Ben Wickens - Maranui

James Groombridge - Worser Bay

Kelsey Lewis - Foxton

Nikita Blubitz - Lyall Bay

Oliver Phillips - Riversdale

Ray Lenaghan - Ōtaki

Warren Neal - Titahi Bay


Patrol Support Person of the Year

Maiah Cudby - Foxton


Sports Team of the Year

Lyall bay U17 Male Ski Relay Team

Maranui U19 Female Ski Relay Team

Paekākāriki Open Female Boat Crew

Titahi Bay U23 Male Boat Crew


Sportsperson of the Year

Alex Cecioni - Paekākāriki

Holly Reynolds - Maranui

Liam Chesney - Lyall Bay


Surf Official of the Year

Ben Barry - Maranui

Joss Urban - Foxton

Natasha Perkins - Paekākāriki

Richard Chesney - Lyall Bay


U19 Lifeguard of the Year

Ava Saulbrey - Lyall Bay

Harry Lancaster - Worser Bay

James Shields - Maranui

Liam Neal - Foxton

Liam Neal - Titahi Bay

Robbie Strombom - Paekākāriki

Shea Lenaghan - Ōtaki

Will Vincent - Riversdale


U19 Sportsperson of the Year

Alec Ball - Foxton

Alex Cecioni - Paekākāriki

Christian Donkin - Titahi Bay

Holly Reynolds - Maranui

Kate McHardy - Lyall Bay


Volunteer of the Year

Ben Wickens - Maranui

Karen Simpson Warren - Paekākāriki

Lyall Bay Group that led Nippers Programme

Sam Gilpin – Ōtaki