Surf Life Saving New Zealand Hawke’s Bay Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

Monday, 12 June 2023

Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) is thrilled to announce the finalists for the Hawke’s Bay Awards of Excellence.


These awards not only acknowledge the incredible skills, commitment, and effort put in by individuals to ensure the safety of beachgoers, but also recognises those who have trained others, managed administration, and participated in sport throughout the 2022/23 season.


Charlie Cordwell, SLSNZ Central Regional Manager, said, “The challenges faced by our teams this season was unparalleled.  In the wake of cyclone Gabrielle, which hit Hawke’s Bay in February, our dedicated crews fearlessly went to help the devastated communities, diligently searching properties and rescuing those in need.  Despite the overwhelming circumstances, our team members, who were also grappling with concerns for their own loved ones and properties, showcased extraordinary bravery and skill.”


The SLSNZ Hawke’s Bay Awards of Excellence will bring together Surf Life Saving Clubs (SLSC) from across the region, including Westshore, Waimārama, Ocean Beach Kiwi, and Pacific.


Cordwell said, “It’s going to be a night of reflection and celebration as we honour all the incredible people who are the lifeblood of Surf Lifesaving in Hawke’s Bay.”


This year’s awards ceremony will take place on 18 June at 4pm at the Ellwood Function Centre in Hastings.



Full List of Finalists:


Lifeguard of the Year

Aidan Charman – Westshore

Jared Fritchley – Ocean Beach Kiwi

Michael Peterson – Waimārama


Instructor of the Year

Bella Drain – Ocean Beach Kiwi

Brian Quirk – Westshore

Lexxie Cunningham – Waimārama


Coach of the Year

Lenny Kay – Ocean Beach Kiwi

Liam Bowden – Westshore


Most Outstanding Beach Athlete – Male

Campbell Gray – Westshore

Logan Margerison – Waimārama


Most Outstanding Beach Athlete – Female

Lucy Angland – Waimārama

Tegan Anderson – Westshore


Sportsperson of the Year

Jonty Laver – Waimārama

Sarah Kate Birkett – Ocean Beach Kiwi


Sports Team of the Year

Ocean Beach Kiwi Female Canoe Crew – OBK

Waimārama U23 IRB Team – Waimārama

Westshore Open Male IRB Crew – Westshore


Masters Sportsperson of the Year

Rebecca Wright – Ocean Beach Kiwi

Rohan Thompson – Waimārama


Masters Sports Team of the Year

OBK Masters Team – Ocean Beach Kiwi


Legend Ironman

Alex Finlayson – Waimārama


Legend Ironwoman

Bella Bassett-Foss – Waimārama


Surf Official of the Year

Denys Carpenter – Pacific

Kristi Drain– Ocean Beach Kiwi

Simon Mills – Westshore

Trina Wills – Waimārama


Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf

Richard Holder – Waimārama


Top Junior (U14) Athete of the Year

Lucy Kinnear – Waimārama

Max MacInnes – Westshore


Humes Cup - Most Improved Athlete

Tia List – Waimārama


Outstanding Contribution to Powercraft

Rhys Harman – Waimārama


Volunteer of the Year

Aidan Callaghan – Westshore

Harry Machiela – Pacific

Henry Geary – Waimārama

Jess Bennett – Ocean Beach Kiwi


Innovation of the Year

Waimarama IRB Racking System – Waimārama

All HB Clubs SAR Squad – Ocean Beach Kiwi



For further information, please contact:

Charlie Cordwell


027 557 1015

SLSNZ Central Regional Manager






About Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ)
SLSNZ represents 74 Surf Lifesaving clubs with 18,000+ members, including more than 4,500 volunteer surf lifeguards. Our surf lifeguards patrol over 90 locations each summer, saving hundreds of lives each year, and ensuring thousands return home safe after a day at the beach. Our volunteer search and rescue squads provide emergency call-out rescue services throughout the year across Aotearoa.  We do all this as a charity and rely on the generosity of the public, commercial partners, foundations and trusts for donations and financial contributions.