Zespri Gisborne/Tairāwhiti Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

Thursday, 10 June 2021

June 8, 2021

Press Release

Zespri Gisborne/Tairāwhiti Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

A busy and successful season between the flags and at lifesaving sport competitions will be celebrated at the Surf Life Saving New Zealand’s Zespri Gisborne/Tairāwhiti Awards of Excellence.

The annual awards recognise volunteers who have gone above and beyond, who have dedicated many hours to their club, and have excelled in lifesaving sport.

Celebrations will take place at The Vines at Bushmere Estate, 166 Main Road, Makaraka, Gisborne on Friday June 25.

The volunteer Surf Lifeguards come from Tolaga Bay, Ngati Porou, Wainui, Waikanae and Midway Surf Life Saving Clubs.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Eastern Region Lifesaving Manager Chaz Gibbons Campbell says it been an interesting season for the volunteer Surf Lifeguards.

“Covid-19 certainly threw a spanner in the works in the lead up to the season but Clubs & Volunteer Surf Lifeguards handled it well and were able to continue patrols through the summer season”

“We didn’t see an increase in visitor numbers however there were still a number of challenging first aids and after hour’s callouts which kept Lifeguards busy,” Chaz says.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Eastern Region Sport Manager Jackson Edwards says the Gisborne Clubs enjoyed a very successful lifesaving sport season.

“It was devastating for all athletes, coaches and supporters to see the cancellation of our National Championships, on the flip side it was great that a large number of our local and regional events were able to go ahead with some solid numbers taking part throughout the region, and lets get excited to make next seasons events the best yet. ”

Surf Life Saving NZ Awards of Excellence are held every year in each SLSNZ region to recognise and celebrate the many club members putting in considerable time, effort and skills at a grass-roots level to make sure Kiwis who head to the beach get home safe.

The regional awards culminate in the National Awards of Excellence which will be held on September 18 in Wellington.


Zespri Gisborne/Tairāwhiti Awards of Excellence 2021 nominees

Frother Junior Lifeguard of the Year
Ella Whibley – Wainui SLSC
Bella Fitzharris-Stevens – Waikanae SLSC
Holly McIntyre – Midway SLSC

Volunteer of the Year
Belinda Slement – Wanui SLSC
Nigel Hope – Waikanae SLSC


Lifesaving Awards

Patrol Support of the Year
Jeremy Lockwood – Wainui SLSC
Tanay Goldsbury – Waikanae SLSC
Bill Wheeler – Midway SLSC

Volunteer Lifeguard of the Year
Kevin Weatherley – Wainui SLSC
Andrew Shelton – Waikanae SLSC
Rubi Perano – Midway SLSC

U19 Emerging Lifeguard of the Year   
Theo Weathlerley – Wainui SLSC
Neo Stuart – Waikanae SLSC
Stella Perano – Midway SLSC

Regional Lifeguard of the Year   
Luke Whibley – Wainui SLSC
Ella van Kregten – Waikanae SLSC
Cairo Reihana – Tolaga Bay SLSC

Patrol Captain of the Year         
Adam Glenister – Wainui SLSC
Calum Wilson – Waikanae SLSC
Debbie Reeves – Midway SLSC

Instructor of the Year
Sonia Keepa – Wainui SLSC
Rodney Richards – Waikanae SLSC
Rama Robertson – Midway SLSC

Beach Education Instructor of the Year
John Minogue – Wainui SLSC
Ella van Kregten – Waikanae SLSC
Rubi Perano – Midway SLSC

Examiner of the Year
Jeremy Lockwood – Wainui SLSC
Andrew Shelton – Waikanae SLSC 

Rescue of the Year
15th August 2020 Rescue – Connor Mitchell, Allan Thorpe, Justin Martin & Michelle Mitchell - Gisborne SAR Squad
9th January 2021 Rescue – Connor Mitchell & Andrew Shelton - Gisborne SAR Squad
20th February 2021 Rescue – Kelly Ryan & Jay Ryan Emerre - Wainui SLSC


Lifesaving Sport Awards

Emerging Official of the Year
Jane Lockwood – Wainui SLSC
Eric Clearwater – Waikanae SLSC                 

Official of the Year
Alistair Thorpe – Waikanae SLSC
Miah Thorpe – Midway SLSC

Emerging Coach of the Year
Emily Gillies – Waikanae SLSC
Jessikah Fearnley – Midway SLSC         

Coach of the Year
Dion Williams – Wainui SLSC
Connor Mitchell – Waikanae SLSC

Sportsteam of the Year
Waikanae U23 IRB Race Team - Connor Mitchell, Oliver Shivnan & Silke McNaught – Waikanae SLSC


Sportsperson of the Year          

U14 Male
Felix Sparks – Waikanae SLSC
Yahni Brown – Midway SLSC                   

U14 Female
Chloe Kapane – Waikanae SLSC

U15 Male
Sam Briant – Waikanae SLSC
Jack Lepper – Midway SLSC

U15 Female|
Jay Ryan Emerre – Wainui SLSC
Freya Wilson – Waikanae SLSC
Sophie Petro – Midway SLSC

U17 Male
Jack Keepa – Wainui SLSC
Lachie Fallon – Waikanae SLSC
Dylan Bronlund – Midway SLSC

U17 Female 
Sofia Zame – Wainui SLSC
Jessie Kapane – Waikanae SLSC
Jessikah Fearnley – Midway SLSC

U19 Male
Nathan Proctor – Waikanae SLSC
Jacob Corrin – Midway SLSC

U19 Female
Ava Smith – Wainui SLSC
Briana Irving – Waikanae SLSC
Edan Wilson – Waikanae SLSC                 

Open Male
Quaid Thompson – Waikanae SLSC
Chris Dawson – Midway SLSC

Open Female
Lauren Pickett – Waikanae SLSC
Briana Irving – Waikanae SLSC                 

Masters Female
Emily Gillies – Waikanae SLSC

International – Individual
Cory Taylor – Midway SLSC


For more information please contact:

Sonia Keepa
Gisborne/Tairawhiti Club Development Officer
Phone: 021 928 301

Rajal Middleton
Head of Commercial & Marketing
Phone 027 457 1001