Congratulations to Instructors & Mentors Selected for National Lifeguard School!

Monday, 19 October 2020

SLSNZ is pleased to announce the team of Instructors and Mentors that've been selected for this season’s National Lifeguard School (NLS). NLS is our highest Surf Lifesaving course, in which candidates gain their Advanced Lifeguard Award. 

SLSNZ Education Development Lead Belinda Slement says the calibre of instructors and mentors that applied this year made the selection process very difficult.

“The team selected for this year’s schools demonstrate a high level of club and regional involvement, experience and leadership.  With this great team and our strong candidate applications this year, we expect the NLS to offer a high level of learning and lifeguard development,” she says.


David Clarke, United North Piha SLSC 
Seth McPhee, Brighton SLSC
James Lloyd, Waihi Beach LS 
Tom Denman, Sumner SLSC
Kate Suter, Sumner SLSC
James Kendrick, Bethells Beach SLSC
Emma Sutherland, Pacific SLSC


• Julia Conway, Mt Maunganui LS
Brad Ward Able, Mairangi Bay SLSC & Muriwai VLS
Adam Glenister, Wainui SLSC
Spencer Raymond, Pauanui SLSC