Hawke’s Bay Surf Life Saving NZ Awards of Excellence winners 2019

Sunday, 26 May 2019

Waimarama Surf Life Saving Club’s Rhys Harman (right) received the Outstanding Contribution to Power Craft award, he is shown during IRB racing at the Waimarama Carnival.

Hawke’s Bay Surf Life Saving NZ clubs have marked a successful lifeguarding season and year of achievements, at their Awards of Excellence tonight in Hastings (Sunday, 26 May).

Almost 60 awards have been made to celebrate the hard work and skills of lifeguards, athletes, trainers, coaches and support people from the four Hawke’s Bay clubs; Westshore SLSC (Surf Life Saving Club), Pacific SLSC, Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC and Waimarama SLSC.

Club support officer Debbie Moodie says the clubs have had a successful season, with no drownings, great work by lifeguards on public education and proactive prevention, and strong inter-club cooperation to share resources, expertise and sporting events.

“There are so many people working to keep our beaches safe, and so many volunteer hours that are put in – so it’s great to recognise those efforts and say thanks to them,” she says.

Pacific SLSC lifeguard Leah Cooper received the Durrand Cup, as Volunteer of the Year, for her efforts as a lifeguard patrol captain, instructor, probationary examiner and committee member, which has seen her made club captain.

Leah leads her club’s weekly Nippers (under 14 year olds) sessions, runs weekly development training for new club members, instructs clubbies sitting their SLGA (the Surf Life Saving Guard Award – which qualifies them to be lifeguards), is a probationary examiner for the Hawke’s Bay, lifeguards at public events, and sits on the club committee.

“She’s an excellent role model… she’s a fit and active lifeguard who covers a broad spectrum of club activities, and always with a positive attitude and outlook. Leah is always proactive in promoting beach safety, and is a true ambassador,” says Pacific SLSC chairwoman Emma Sutherland.

Simon Kay, of Pacific SLSC, was awarded the prestigious Tremains Shield for being named Lifeguard of the Year. This season he guided two groups of new lifeguards through their Surf Lifeguard Award (which qualifies them to be lifeguards), was a patrol captain, and director of lifeguarding for his club.

He also graduated from the National Lifeguard School with the Advanced Lifeguard Award and CIMS2 (an external qualification certifying first responders to work between agencies in emergency situations such as search and rescue).

“Simon’s passion, dedication and commitment to lifeguarding this season allowed a high level of organisation and preparedness,” says Emma Sutherland.

Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC Reece Akuhata has received the Life Member Cup as Sportsperson of the Year.

At the March TSB New Zealand Surf Life Saving Championships in Mount Maunganui Reece won gold medals in the u19 male beach flags event, the u19 male beach relay team, and the open male beach relay team, as well as coming fourth in the u19 male beach sprint team.

And he was one of 17 surf lifesaving athletes nationally who were selected to the New Zealand Development Squad.
The annual regional awards are held in Surf Life Saving NZ areas throughout the country, culminating with the National Awards of Excellence, later this year.

Hawke’s Bay Awards of Excellence winners 2019:

Junior Surf Awards

10 /11 years Female
Alice Grant, Westshore SLSC

10/11 years Male
Jesse Beals, Westshore SLSC

Maude Russell Cup - Top Junior Surf Club
Westshore SLSC

Angus Russell - Top Junior Surf Female
Grace Akeripa, Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC

Andresen Memorial - Top Junior Surf Male
Ben Stephenson, Westshore SLSC

Metropolitan Life – Outstanding Sportsmanship Junior Surf
Maddie Kerins, Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC

Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf
Magnus Larbi, Pacific SLSC

Points Trophies from Hawke’s Bay Championships

Pania Cup - Open Female Aggregate Points at Hawke’s Bay Championships
Westshore SLSC

Challenge Shield - Open Male Aggregate Points at Hawke’s Bay Championships
Westshore SLSC

Allan Christie Trophy - Hawke’s Bay Pennant - Most Points Overall at Hawke’s Bay Championships
Westshore SLSC

Canterbury Trophy
Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC

Welsh Ladies Trophy (Open Female Ski Race)
Bridget Page, Westshore SLSC

Atherfold Cup (Open Male Surf Race)
Cian Jefferson, Westshore SLSC

London Trophy (Open Male Taplin )
Westshore SLSC

Paekakariki Shield (Open Female Taplin)
Waimarama SLSC

Russell Cup (U19 Male Taplin)
Waimarama SLSC

Burt Cup (U19 Female Taplin)
Westshore SLSC

JJE Rodda Memorial Cup (U16 Male Taplin)
Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC

Unnamed Cup (U16 Female Taplin)
Waimarama SLSC

Sport Trophies - Overall/General

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Male
Reece Akuhata, Ocean Beach SLSC

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Female
Jess Tucker, Ocean Beach SLSC

Legend Ironwoman - All Ages
Bella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama SLSC

Legend Ironman - All Ages
Jonty Laver, Waimarama

Carroll Cup - Open Ironman Aggregate (Male)
Cian Jefferson, Westshore SLSC

Open Ironwoman Aggregate (Female)
Bella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama SLSC

Humes Cup - Most Improved Athlete
Alfie Wilson, Waimarama SLSC

Lifeguarding Awards and Trophies
(season patrol hours in brackets)

Top 3 Patrollers – Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC
Thomas Kay 57.5, Meg Barclay 53, Nigel Prins 46.5.

Top 3 Patrollers – Waimarama SLSC
Kail MacKenzie 171.5, Meg Russell 103.5, Keira Laurie 91.

Top 3 Patrollers – Pacific SLSC
Leah Cooper 112.75, Jordan Frisby 89.5, Charlotte Welsh 69.5.

Top 3 Patrollers – Westshore SLSC
Roisin Kenny 107, Kirk McNabb 86.75, Nathan Berry 74.

Top Patrol Captain – Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC
Meg Barclay

Top Patrol Captain – Waimarama SLSC
Phil Harman

Top Patrol Captain – Westshore SLSC
Nathan Berry

Top Patrol Captain – Pacific SLSC
Simon Kay

Outstanding Contribution to Power Craft
Rhys Harman

Most IRB Awards
Westshore SLSC 20

Bart Dennehy Trophy – Most Surf Awards and Surf Instructors awards
Westshore SLSC 40

Coach of the Year Trophy
Greg Larsen

Surf Official of the Year
Sarnia Brewer

Life Member Cup (Sportsperson of the Year)
Reece Akuhata

Dickson Cup Sports team of the Year
Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC u19 and Open Male Beach Relay Team

Innovation of the year
No nominations

Volunteer of the Year - Durrand Cup
Leah Cooper

Instructor of the Year
Jason Broome

Lifeguard of the Year - Tremains Shield
Simon Kay

Masters Sportsperson of the Year
Emma Akeripa

Masters Sports Team of the Year
Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC Masters Canoe team

Club of the Year - Westshore SLSC

Ice Breaker Cup Male
Jonty Laver

Ice Breaker Cup Female
Connie Wilson

Ice Breaker Cup Teams
Andy Callinicos, Sam Henderson, Hadlee Dyer

Service Awards

Hawke’s Bay Service Award
Daniel Moodie, Westshore SLSC
Graeme Ward Waimarama SLSC
James Laver, Waimarama SLSC
Jimmy Bowden, Westshore SLSC
Nikki Lawson, Westshore SLSC
Trina Wills, Westshore SLSC

Distinguished Service Award
Graeme Ward, Waimarama SLSC

Life Memberships
Aidan Charman, Westshore SLSC
John O'Shaughnessy, Westshore SLSC


File photos for Surf Life Saving NZ can be found here.

For more information, please contact:
Debbie Moodie, Surf Life Saving NZ central region club support officer
Phone: 027 421 3506,

Karoline Tuckey, for Surf Life Saving NZ media and communications
Phone: 021 636 647,