2018 Service Award recipients announced

Thursday, 20 September 2018

Thirty-one members of Surf Life Saving New Zealand will be honoured with special service awards when the organisation hosts its annual Awards of Excellence this weekend.

Every year, the organisation awards Service, Distinguished Service, 50 Year Badges and Life Memberships to officially honour members' dedication to Surf Life Saving and recognise how much they have given to their local communities over the years.

The 2018 Surf Life Saving Awards of Excellence are taking place at the Heritage Hotel in Auckland this Saturday with the presentation of lifesaving, sport and service awards.

Holders of the SLSNZ Service Award have given outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a period of years while holders of the Distinguished Service Award have continued to give outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a longer period of time.

Life Memberships are awarded to those members who have been active members for at least 25 years and who have provided exemplary service at a national level and the 50 Year Badge is given to members who have dedicated 50 years of service to Surf Life Saving within New Zealand.

Join us in thanking these award recipients for their service to saving lives over the years. Follow the Surf Life Saving NZ Facebook page for updates on the night to celebrate with us and these 31 award recipients.

Service Awards:
- Sam Baker, Spencer Park SLSC
- Kevin Barugh, Pukehina SR
- Denise Bracken, PauanuiSLSC
- Shane Burke, Orewa SLSC
- Aidan Callaghan, Westshore SLSC
- Alison Cole, Fitzroy SLSC
- Carolyn Edwards, Sunset Beach LS
- Ross Fearon, Mairangi Bay SLSC
- Mark Goodhew, Muriwai VLS
- Dean Isherwood, North Beach SLSC
- Trevor Keinzley, Orewa SLSC
- Leanne McAlister, South Brighton SLSC
- Nathan Mitchell, North Beach SLSC
- Adam Moffitt, Westshore SLSC
- Damien Molloy, Muriwai VLS
- Nick Mulcahy, Titahi Bay SLSC
- Leif Neilson, United North Piha SLSC
- Byron Reid, Fitzroy SLSC
- Allan Roberts, Muriwai VLS
- Matthew Williams, Muriwai VLS/Pauanui SLSC
- Richard Wilson, Ocean Beach Kiwi SLSC

50 Year Badges:
- Dave East, North Beach SLSC
- Gordon Finlayson, Mangawhai Heads VLS
- Colin MacKenzie, North Beach SLSC
- Allan Roberts, Muriwai VLS
- Robert (Bob) Dickson , Waimarama SLSC
- Peter Gibbons, St Kilda SLSC
- Murray Kemp, Waikanae SLSC

Distinguished Service Awards:
- Duane Dalton, Mairangi Bay SLSC
- Michelle Newton, Red Beach SLSC

Life Membership:
- Gareth Neilson, United North Piha SLSC

For more information, please contact:

Alana McIsaac, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 027 515 7157