Otago and Southland Surf Life Saving award winners announced

Thursday, 24 May 2018

The annual Otago-Southland Surf Life Saving regional awards of excellence have seen over 10 awards presented to surf lifeguards and club members for their tireless efforts over the 2018-19 patrol season.

Clubs from right around the region took home awards including St Clair, St Kilda, Oreti, and Brighton.

St Clair took home the majority of the awards, being presented with five of the local awards including examiner / instructor of the year along with many sports awards including top sports person, top sports team and top coach of the year.

However, the prestigious lifeguard of the year award was awarded to Peter Gibbons from St Kilda Surf Life Saving Club who received it for unwavering dedication to Surf Life Saving. Peter was celebrated for a multitude of tasks over his 40+ year tenure, including many in the 2017-18 patrol season.

The southern-most club in the country, Oreti Surf Life Saving Club, managed to take home the Volunteer of the Year award with Sarah Ball. She was presented with the award for voluntarily helping her club members attend courses, organising trainings, and helping with transportation to and from competitions, and other Surf Life Saving events, including the TSB New Zealand Surf Life Saving Championships in Gisborne.

Sarah is also a committee member of Oreti Surf Life Saving Club and was "one of the best" beach education instructors over the past season.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Southern Region Manager, Stu Bryce, said it was a great opportunity to celebrate and thank all the lifeguards and club members for their "invaluable contribution" to their communities.

"We are so proud to hear these stories and celebrate the successes of everyone at these awards, from our lifeguards to coaches, sports people and innovators. They all play in vital role on our beaches and it is great being able to acknowledge that."

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise members for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand before culminating at the National Awards of Excellence held this year in Auckland.

Awards of Excellence - Otago-Southland

Otago-Southland - Lifeguard of the Year:
Peter Gibbons, St Kilda

Otago-Southland - Instructor/ Examiner of the Year:
Chris Haig, St Clair

Otago-Southland - Volunteer of the Year:
Sarah Ball, Oreti

Otago-Southland - Innovation of the Year:
Tomahawk Patrols

Otago-Southland - Regional Lifeguard of the Year:
Blake Porteous, Brighton

Otago-Southland - Rescue of the Year:
Otago Search and Rescue Call Out Team, Taieri Floods.

Otago-Southland - Surf Official of the Year:
David Bourke, St Kilda

Otago-Southland - Coach of the Year:
Isaac Davies, St Clair

Otago-Southland - Event Guard of the Year:
Jackson Aluesi, St Clair

Otago-Southland - Sportsperson of the Year:
Erika Fairweather, St Clair

Otago-Southland - Sports Team of the Year:
U20 Womens IRB Crew, St Clair

Regional Service Awards:
Nicholas Harwood
Justin Reid
Micheal Thompson
Nic Brice
Max Corboy
Cam Third

 SLSNZ_Awards Evening 2017-5413

For more information, please contact:

Alana McIsaac, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 027 515 7157