Otago and Southland lifeguard award finalists announced

Tuesday, 15 May 2018

Otago-Southland is the next region to announce their finalists for their Awards of Excellence, where lifeguards from throughout the region are celebrated for their valuable contribution and efforts in helping the public throughout the year.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) members for their hard work and dedication to surf lifesaving in New Zealand.

The Otago-Southland Awards of Excellence will be held at the Mornington Tavern in Dunedin on Friday May 25th and include lifeguards and members from the southernmost club at Oreti, to Warrington north of Dunedin.

The winners of each category from the Otago-Southland awards, then automatically become finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence, held in September, where national award winners are announced.

Stu Bryce, Surf Life Saving New Zealand Southern Region Manager says the awards are an important way to end a busy season and recognise the contribution lifeguards make to the community.

"The Awards of Excellence are a great opportunity to congratulate and celebrate the time and energy that our members have given over the 2017-18 patrol season," he says.

"It was hard to select these finalists as all of the lifeguards throughout Otago and Southland are fantastic. However the finalists in these awards all deserve to be recognised and celebrated for their exceptional efforts throughout the year," Mr Bryce added.

Otago-Southland Awards of Excellence finalists:

2018 Otago-Southland - Lifeguard of the Year:

  • Peter Gibbons, St Kilda
  • Chris Haig, St Clair  
  • Kayle Harris, Warrington  
  • Tayla Pohe, Brighton 
  • Kelsey Lewis, Oreti

2018 Otago-Southland - Instructor/ Examiner of the Year:

  • Chris Haig, St Clair 
  • Rachel Oakley, St Kilda 
  • Shana Pohe, Brighton
  • Samantha Nielsen, Oreti

2018 Otago-Southland - Volunteer of the Year:

  • Nathan Laws, Warrington
  • Nic Brice, St Kilda
  • Sarah Ball, Oreti
  • Chris Haig, St Clair
  • Isaac Davies, St Clair
  • Mark Lane, Brighton

2018 Otago-Southland - Innovation of the Year:

  • Tomahawk Patrols
  • Cameron Third, Costal Classic

2018 Otago-Southland - Regional Lifeguard of the Year:

  • Blake Porteous
  • Mikayla Garforth
  • Charlotte Becconsall-Ryan

2018 Otago-Southland - Rescue of the Year:

  • SAR Call Out Team, Taieri Plains
  • Kaka Point

2018 Otago-Southland - Surf Official of the Year:

  • Michael Andrew, St Clair
  • Michael Trembath, St Clair
  • David Borke, St Kilda
  • Sean Doyle, Warrington

2018 Otago-Southland - Coach of the Year:

  • Isaac Davies, St Clair
  • Michael Coutts, St Clair
  • Chris Haig, St Clair
  • Kate Harrington, Oreti
  • Dave McPhee, Brighton

2018 Otago-Southland - Event Guard of the Year:

  • Jackson Aluesi, St Clair
  • Duncan New, St Kilda

2018 Otago-Southland - Sportsperson of the Year:

  • Phoebe Aburn, Brighton
  • Jeremy Kidd, Oreti
  • Carina Doyle, St Clair
  • Erika Fairweather, St Clair
  • Georgia Rathbone, St Clair

2018 Otago-Southland - Sports Team of the Year:

  • Masters Men's Canoe Crew, Warrington
  • U19 Men's IRB Crew, St Kilda
  • U20 Women's IRB Crew, St Clair
  • U19 Women's Surf Canoe Crew, Oreti
  • U19 Women's Team, Brighton


For more information, please contact:

Alana McIsaac, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 027 515 7157