Hawkes Bay surf lifeguard award finalists announced

Thursday, 7 June 2018

The finalists for the 2018 Surf Life Saving Hawkes Bay Awards of Excellence have been announced ahead of this month's ceremony in Hastings, where surf lifeguards from throughout the region are celebrated for their impressive efforts throughout the year.

Every year, Hawkes Bay holds a regional Awards of Excellence ceremony, similar to other regions around the country, to officially recognise Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) members for their hard work and dedication to surf lifesaving in New Zealand through lifeguarding, education, sport and more.

The Hawkes Bay Awards of Excellence will be held at the Elwood Function Centre on Otene Rd, Hastings on Sunday June 17 and include lifeguards from all four Hawkes Bay Surf Life Saving Clubs including Pacific, Ocean Beach Kiwi, Waimarama and Westshore.

The winners of each category from the Hawkes Bay awards are then automatically selected as finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence, held in September where they have the potential to win a prestigious national award.

Debbie Moodie, Club Support Officer for Hawkes Bay says the awards are an important way to end a busy season and recognise the contribution lifeguards make to the community.

"These Awards of Excellence are the perfect way to say thanks to all our members who have poured in so much time and energy over the 2017-18 patrol season," she says.

"Surf lifeguards make such a valuable contribution to Hawkes Bay by keeping our coastline safe, and this is our way of thanking them for that hard work. We wouldn't be able to enjoy our stunning beaches as much without them looking after us."

To stay up to date with Hawkes Bay awards, or any other lifesaving news from the area, follow the SLSNZ Central Region Facebook page.

Hawkes Bay Awards of Excellence finalists:

Instructor of the Year
Farren McGregor-Smyth, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Brian Quirk, Westshore
Jason Broome, Waimarama

Lifeguard of the Year
Ella McCabe, Waimarama
Jasper Marra, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Leah Cooper, Pacific
Bridget Page, Westshore
Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf
Danielle Stephenson, Pacific
Mark Jenkinson, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Trina Wills, Westshore

Outstanding Sportsmanship Junior Surf
Isla Prins, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Mahina Ross, Westshore

Outstanding Contribution to Powercraft
Ben Doggett, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Taylor Dick, Westshore
Mike Harman, Waimarama

Legend Ironman
Jonty Laver, Waimarama
Thomas Kay, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Legend Ironwoman
Isabella (Bella) Bassett-Foss, Waimarama

Most Improved Athlete (Hume Cup)
Grayson Hesketh, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Logan Sanko, Waimarama
Matt Pearce, Pacific

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Male
Jacob Driver, Pacific
Reece Akuhata , Ocean Beach Kiwi

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Female
Jess Tucker, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Sportsperson of the Year
Isabella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
Mahina Ross, Westshore
Michael Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
Reece Akuhata, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Sports Team of the Year
Ocean Beach Kiwi U16 Mens Beach Relay Team, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Waimarama Open Mens Canoe Crew, Waimarama
Westshore U16 Womens Board Rescue Team , Westshore

Surf Official of the Year
Toni Dunstan, Waimarama
Trina Wills, Westshore
Coach of the Year
Chantelle Cowlrick, Westshore
Cian Jefferson, Westshore
Greg Larsen, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Volunteer of the Year
Debbie Morgan, Waimarama
Leah Cooper, Pacific
Sue Kay, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Karrie Stephens, Westshore

Masters Sportsperson of the Year
Lou Corkery, Waimarama
Greg Larsen, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Masters Sports Team of the Year
Westshore Napier Port Boat Crew, Westshore
OBK Couttsie Canoe Crew, Ocean Beach Kiwi

 SLSNZ_Awards Evening 2017-5413

For more information, please contact:

Alana McIsaac, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 027 515 7157