Capital Coast surf lifeguard award winners celebrated in Wellington

Sunday, 10 June 2018

The annual Capital Coast Surf Life Saving regional awards of excellence have seen over 10 awards presented to surf lifeguards and club members for their tireless efforts over the 2018-19 patrol season.

Clubs from right around the region took home awards including Paekakariki, Titahi Bay, Lyall Bay, Levin-Waitarere, Maranui and Riversdale Surf Life Saving Clubs.

Paekakariki took home the majority of the awards, being presented with four of the local awards including lifeguard of the year and coach of the year.

The lifeguard of the year award was presented to Amy Spiekerman who took home the honour for "spearheading the patrols for Paekakariki Surf Lifeguards" along with providing guidance and support to junior members. She is a positive role-model for young lifeguards joining Paekakariki and goes above and beyond to keep people safe on the beach while training new surf lifeguards.

However, the prestigious volunteer of the year went to Mike Taylor from Riversdale in Wairarapa for his HUGE dedication to surf lifesaving over the past year. Not only is he the chief IRB examiner, the lifeguard award examiner, VHF radio instructor/assessor, but he's also part of the year-round call-out squad and drives from the Wairarapa to the Kapiti Coast every month to participate in the local lifesaving committee.

If all that wasn't enough, Mike is also committed to education and last year delivered 18 Beach Education programmes to young people at Riversdale, along with running education sessions at local schools.

SLSNZ Central Region Lifesaving Manager, Netta Cagney, said it was the perfect opportunity to give thanks to all the lifeguards and club members for their work throughout year.

"All our members have worked so hard over the past 12 months so it's great to recognise those who have undoubtedly made a difference in their communities. The beaches are so much safer because of their work and we're thankful for that.

"It's also great to get everyone together for one night of celebration. The lifeguards from this area cover a large distance of coastline and often don't get to see each other, so it's an excellent opportunity to all share stories and successes from over the past 12 months."

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise members for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand before culminating at the National Awards of Excellence held this year in Auckland.

Awards of Excellence - Capital Coast Winners

U19 Lifeguard of Year
Chloe Crowe, Titahi Bay

Lifeguard of the Year
Amy Spiekerman, Paekakariki

Instructor of the Year
Ben Flynn, Paekakariki

Sportsperson of Year
Wil McDowell, Titahi Bay

U19 Sportsperson of the Year
Luther Maxwell, Lyall Bay

Sports Team of Year
Titahi Bay Open Mixed Double Ski Crew, Titahi Bay

Coach of the Year
David Jones, Paekakariki

Surf Official of the Year
Natasha Perkins, Paekakariki

Volunteer of Year
Mike Taylor, Riversdale

Innovation of the Year
Rhys Speirs, Maranui

Rescue of the Year
Levin-Waitarere Surf Life Saving Club

Club of the Year
Maranui Surf Life Saving Club

Service Award
David Jones, Paekakariki
Natasha Perkins, Paekakariki
Rackley Nolan, Paekakariki

Distinguished Service Award
Lynette Imrie, Paekakariki

Life Member
Brent Harvey, Paekakariki

SLSNZ_Awards Evening 2017-5413

For more information, please contact:

Alana McIsaac, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 027 515 7157