2018 Sanyo Cup team announced

Friday, 6 April 2018

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the team of 10 athletes selected to represent New Zealand at the 2018 Sanyo Cup.

This annual international event, which is run by the Japan Lifesaving Association, is taking place from June 23-24 in Fukuoka, Japan.

The beach-based competition will be run with the same programme on each day including surf, board, ski and ocean person races, beach flags, sprints and other team events.

New Zealand will join teams from Australia, USA, Great Britain, Netherlands, South Africa, Hong Kong and Japan.

The overall winning team will be determined by combined points across the two days of competition.

New Zealand team:

• Murdoch Finch, Omanu Beach
• Casie Fyall, Waikanae
• Claudia Kelly, East End
• Cory Taylor, Midway
• Hannah Baker, East End
• Louis Clark, Taylors Mistake
• Luther Maxwell, Lyall Bay
• Macy Burns, Lyall Bay
• Olivia Corrin, Midway
• Scott Cowdrey, Papamoa

The selected athletes will be led by the management team of Danny Morrison (Coach), Jack Gavin (Assistant Coach) and Steven Vaughan (Manager).

We wish them all the best in their bid to win the 2018 Sanyo Cup and look forward to following their build up to the event.

To keep up-to-date with the team's journey, visit the High Performance Facebook page or on Twitter and Instagram.

For more information about the Sanyo Cup, visit

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 0276 488 823
Email or


Mike Lord, Sport Manager
Phone 0274 571 025