Surf Life Saving New Zealand Board appointments

Monday, 25 September 2017

Surf Life Saving New Zealand wishes to advise the appointments to its Board for the 2017/18 season, following Saturday's Annual General Meeting in Auckland.

Elected Board Members (2)
• Brent Warner
• Paul Carlyon

One will take a two year term and the other a three year term and this will be determined at the at the first Board meeting after the AGM.

Appointed Board Member (1)
• Kelvyn Eglinton- three year term.

Independent Appointed Board Member (1)
• Graham Crombie- three year term.

They now join the four existing Board Members whose terms are continuing for another year:
• Vanessa Winning
• Trevor Taylor
• Kate Barry-Piceno
• Colin Weatherall

The Board thanks outgoing Board member Joe Pope for his service.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand also wishes to congratulate Brian Velvin MNZM as its new President.

He takes over from Neale Ames QSM who has served as President since 2012. The SLSNZ Life Member and 50 Year Badge holder is the organisation's longest standing President.

In his first summer in the role, he set himself a challenge to visit every Surf Life Saving Club in the country in his own time and at his own expense, which he achieved within two summers- a testament to his dedication to duty!

The Board, along with the wider organisation, is very appreciative of Neale's service and the time and effort that he has put into his role as President over the past five years.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 0276 488 823