Women’s High Performance Surf Boat teams announced

Tuesday, 21 November 2017

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce two surf boat crews that have been selected to represent New Zealand at the 2018 Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge.

The Open Women's and Under 23 Women's teams were selected following the New Zealand Surf Boat Trials held at Mt Maunganui on Saturday November 11.

Open Women - Muriwai Meerkats
1. Nicole Owen
2. Kathryn Wright
3. Jaime Gunderson
4. Alison Craigie
5. Ricky Butt (Sweep)

Under 23 Women - Orewa Aces
1. Alexandra Murden
2. Tyler McDowall
3. Kayla Fuemana
4. Sylvie Mitchell
5. Stuart Handford (Sweep)

The results for the men's crews is more complicated; as there was no dominant crew on the day of the trial, nor the first round of the Surf Boat Series held the next day, the New Zealand Surf Boat Selectors have decided to defer selection of the Open Men's crew until after the Whangamata Surf Boat Spectacular on January 2, 2018 to see further performances of the crews that are trialling for selection.

In the Under 23 Men's category, the Whangamata Barry's were the clear selection after the trial races. However they are candidates for higher honours, having trialled in the Open Men's division as well.

If they are successful in this following the racing on January 2 and selected as the Open Men's crew, then a further selection from the remaining Under 23 triallists will be made.

If the Whangamata Barry's aren't selected as the Open Men's crew, they will then be confirmed as the Under 23 Men's crew.

The 2018 Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge will take place on February 17 at Elouera Beach in New South Wales and will be incorporated into a full weekend of Surf Boat action as part of the ASRL Open event.

The Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge consists of a three race series for the men's crews and same for the women's with combined points accumulating to a champion nation that will be presented with the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge trophy.

The three races will be made up of two long course events and one short course event. The Open crews will also be accompanied by two New Zealand Under 23 crews who will race against the Open crews in the three race series, and whose results count towards an overall Under 23 points table.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand thanks selectors Neil Watts, Brett Hamer, Bruce Matheson and also the volunteer officials that assisted in running the Surf Boat trial.


For more information, please contact:

Mike Lord, Sport Manager
Phone (03) 384 4902
Email or

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 0276 488 823