2017 National Lifeguard School participants announced

Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Nineteen candidates, with the support of a team of highly qualified Instructors and Mentors, will undergo intense training to gain their Advanced Lifeguard Award- the highest award when it comes to lifeguarding in New Zealand.

They will take part in Surf Life Saving New Zealand's 2017 National Lifeguard School at Fitzroy Beach in Taranaki from December 8-10.

The National Lifeguard School is Surf Life Saving New Zealand's highest surf lifesaving course.

Held annually, the schools combine dynamic theory sessions with a number of intensive practical and scenario-based activities extending participants both physically and mentally- honing already advanced skills.

Part of Surf Life Saving New Zealand's partnership with Zespri sees a number of scholarships available for the National Lifeguard School each year to cover the user-pays component of the course cost for Eastern Region candidates.

This year there is a strong representation from the Eastern Region with eight candidates set to take part, from four clubs- Omanu Beach, Pauanui, Pukehina and Waihi Beach.

SLSNZ Member Development Manager Belinda Slement says year-on-year, the standard of applicants is incredibly high.

"Congratulations to all of the selected athletes along with this year's team of Instructors and Mentors. It is set to be a great weekend," she says.

Laura Puckett, Omaha Beach
Jordan Te Aukura, Mairangi Bay
Liam McGovern, Omanu Beach
Donal Boyle, Omanu Beach
Haven Bellamy, Omanu Beach
Gabriel Puckey-Brockelsby, Omanu Beach
Xavier Murphy, Pauanui
Joanne Parry, Pukehina
Nick Wagstaff, Waihi Beach
Nicholas Bodenstein, Pauanui
Emma Riseley, Lyall Bay
Joshua Braddock, Otaki
Michael Watts, New Plymouth Old Boys
DJ Stapleton, Titahi Bay
Jackson Smith, Waimairi
Nic Brice, St Kilda
Fraser Smith, Waimairi
Jade Jeffery, Sumner
Melissa Patterson, Sumner

Adam Fraser, Fitzroy
Chris Harrison, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Andy Kent, Mairangi Bay
Seth McPhee, Brighton
Gavin Mason, St Clair
Dave Clarke, United North Piha

Ashleigh Hurring, Waikanae
James Kendrick, Bethells Beach
Nathan Berry, Levin-Waitarere
Troy Greenem, Lyall Bay

For more information about National Lifeguard School, please click here.


For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 0276 488 823

Belinda Slement, Member Development Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 027 233 4014