2017 BP Leaders for Life candidates announced

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the successful BP Leaders for Life candidates for 2017.

Bradley Kehoe- Mangawhai Heads
Michael Buck- Mairangi Bay
Sam Teteina- Bethells
Ella Boyens- Raglan
Mark Gordon- United North Piha
Felix Cook- Mount Maunganui
Joanne Parry- Pukehina
Alexandra Beggs- Pauanui
Natalie Wilson- Whangamata
Kathryn Stewart- Papamoa
Casey Stevens- New Plymouth Old Boys
Brook Smith- Opunake
Pavee Ruksaksakul- Lyall Bay
Elis Hickson Rowden- Worser Bay
Rachel Oakley- St Kilda

BP Leaders for Life was created in 2012 as part of a national strategy to support a wide range of development activity for members right across the Surf Life Saving community.

While small changes have been made from year-to-year, the programme underwent a major review over the past six months and, as an outcome, a new format has been introduced for the 2017-18 season.

A total of 15 places were on offer with the selection process involving the regions identifying key leaders.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Member Development Manager Belinda Slement says she's really excited about this year's new programme structure and the group of selected candidates.

"With the new selection process, and only being able to select our top 15 candidates, it was a tough process. We had some outstanding applicants this year and we are looking forward to rolling out our first workshop in Mt Maunganui in July."

The purpose of the BP Leaders for Life is to enhance the ability of current and emerging leaders within the Surf Life Saving community to make a real difference to their clubs and across the wider organisation.

BP Communications Manager Leigh Taylor says the programme continues to evolve every year and the feedback from both participants and clubs has been really positive.

"We are proud to support the programme and the development opportunities it offers. We hope the next round of candidates get as much value out of it as others have in the past," she says.

Part of Surf Life Saving's partnership with Zespri, which was formed in February last year, sees a number of scholarships available for the BP Leaders for Life programme each year to cover the user-pays component of the course cost.

The five Eastern Region candidates (Felix Cook, Joanne Parry, Alexandra Beggs, Natalie Wilson and Kathryn Stewart) are the recipients of this year's Zespri scholarships and Zespri will cover the cost of them attending this course.

Zespri General Manager, Grower and External Relations David Courtney says "supporting lifeguard training is Zespri's way of giving back to the communities that support us. It's great to see another cohort of passionate young people coming through this great programme to keep out local beaches safe," he says.

For more information on BP Leaders for Life, please click here.


For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 0276 488 823 or email


Belinda Slement, Member Development Manager, SLSNZ
Ph 027-233-4014 or email