Hawkes Bay award winners announced

Sunday, 11 June 2017

Hawke's Bay's top lifeguards, volunteers and sports people were praised tonight at the 2017 Surf Life Saving Hawke's Bay Awards of Excellence.

The ceremony took place at the Ellwood Functions Centre and included Westshore, Pacific, Ocean Beach Kiwi and Waimarama Surf Life Saving Clubs.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise members for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

One of the night's top awards, Lifeguard of the Year, was awarded to Sean Meagher from Westshore Surf Life Saving Club. The purpose of this award is to recognise a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the delivery and development of drowning prevention services for Surf Life Saving.

Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Jason Broome from Waimarama Surf Life Saving Club. The purpose of this award is to recognise an outstanding member who has made a significant volunteer contribution to enhancing surf lifesaving within their local area during the patrol season.

Sean and Jason will go on to be finalists in the national Surf Life Saving New Zealand Awards of Excellence, being held in Auckland in September.

Westshore Surf Life Saving Club took out two of the big awards for the night; Club of the Year and Rescue of the Year.

Other awards handed out tonight included Regional Service Awards and local sports awards.

Debbie Moodie, Club Development Officer for Hawke's Bay, says the evening was a great way to celebrate the region's top lifeguards, volunteers and sports people and the end of another busy season.

Awards of Excellence winners:

Lifeguarding Awards and Trophies:
Top 3 Patrollers- Ocean Beach Kiwi: Meg Barclay 94, Wesley Akeripa 45.5, Andy Callinicos 38.5
Top 3 Patrollers- Waimarama: Tony Pattison 93, Jason Broome 92.5, John Sanko 91.25.
Top 3 Patrollers- Pacific: Leah Cooper 84.75, Braeden Peachey 55, Ewan Lee 51.
Top 3 Patrollers- Westshore: Sean Meagher 91, Bridget Page 87.5, Olivia Gray 86.5.
Top Patrol Captain- Ocean Beach Kiwi: Andrew Callinicos
Top Patrol Captain- Waimarama: Phil Harman
Top Patrol Captain- Westshore: Jimmy Bowden
Top Patrol Captain- Pacific: Simon Kay
Outstanding Contribution to Power Craft: Michael Harman, Waimarama
Most IRB Awards: Ocean Beach Kiwi
Bart Dennehy Trophy- Most Surf Awards and Surf Instructors Awards: Ocean Beach Kiwi
Coach of the Year Trophy: Greg Larsen, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Surf Official of the Year: Mike O'Malley, Pacific
Life Member Cup (Sportsperson of the Year): Georgia Rathbone, Waimarama
Dickson Cup Sports team of the Year: Waimarama Premier IRB crew
Innovation of the Year: Michael Finlayson, Waimarama Patrol Tower
Volunteer of the Year- Durrand Cup: Jason Broome, Waimarama
Instructor of the Year: Brian Quirk, Westshore
Lifeguard of the Year- Tremains Shield: Sean Meagher, Westshore
Club of the Year: Westshore
Rescue of the Year: Westshore
Ice Breaker Cup Men's: Scott Bicknell, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Ice Breaker Cup Women's: Bella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
Ice Breaker Cup Teams: Tirau Wihongi, Liam Bowden, Lachlan Cairns, Westshore

Junior Surf:
10 /11 yrs Female: Grace Akeripa, Ocean Beach Kiwi
10/11 yrs Male: Harry Robinson, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Maude Russell Cup- Top Jnr Surf Club: Waimarama
Angus Russell- Top Jnr Surf Female: Mahina Ross, Westshore
Andresen Memorial- Top Jnr Surf Male: William Laver, Waimarama
Metropolitan Life- Outstanding Sportsmanship Junior Surf: Sam Connor, Waimarama
Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf: Neil Galland, Westshore

Points Trophies from HB Champs:
Pania Cup- Open Women's Aggregate Points at HB Champs: Westshore
Pacific Shield Open Men's Aggregate Points at HB Champs: Ocean Beach Kiwi
Allan Christie Trophy -Hawke's Bay Pennant - Most Points Overall at HB Champs: Westshore
Canterbury Trophy: Ocean Beach Kiwi
Welsh Ladies Trophy (OW Ski Race): Hana-Tia Ross - Ocean Beach Kiwi
Atherfold Cup (OM Surf Race): Hadlee Dyer, Ocean Beach Kiwi
London Trophy (OM Taplin): Ocean Beach Kiwi
Paekakariki Shield (OW Taplin): Ocean Beach Kiwi
Russell Cup (U19 M Taplin): Westshore
Burt Cup (U19 W Taplin): Ocean Beach Kiwi
JJE Rodda Memorial Cup (U16M Taplin): Westshore
Unnamed Cup (U16W Taplin): Westshore

Sport Trophies:
Most Outstanding Beach Athlete- Male: Ben Lewis, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Most Outstanding Beach Athlete- Female: Georgia Rathbone, Waimarama
Legend Ironwoman- All Ages: Bella Bassett Foss, Waimarama
Legend Ironman- All Ages: Kieran Kruger, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Carroll Cup- Open Ironman Aggregate (Male): Kieran Kruger, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Open Ironwoman Aggregate (Female): Bella Bassett Foss, Waimarama
Humes Cup - Most Improved Athlete: Joshua Lee, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Masters Sports Team of the Year: Westshore Red (Aidan Charman, Jude Minor, Eric Forster, Daniel Murfitt, Jamie Thompson, Rob Robinson)
Masters Sportsperson of the Year: Michael Bassett-Foss, Waimarama

Service Awards:
Jaime Cox, Waimarama
Jason Broome, Waimarama
Emma Hubbard, Pacific
Aidan Charman, Westshore

Distinguished Service Awards:
Aidan Charman, Westshore
Neil Galland, Westshore
Harold Pearse, Waimarama
Harley Mclaughlin, Waimarama
Michael Bassett-Foss, Waimarama


Sean Meagher receiving the Lifeguard of the Year award.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Ph 0276-488-823 or email

Or  Debbie Moodie, Hawke's Bay Club Support Officer, SLSNZ
Phone 0274-213-506 or email