Hawke’s Bay award finalists announced

Thursday, 1 June 2017

The finalists for the 2017 Hawke's Bay Awards of Excellence have been announced ahead of this month's ceremony at the Ellwood Functions Centre.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise members for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

The Hawke's Bay Awards of Excellence will be held on Sunday June 11 and include Westshore, Pacific, Ocean Beach Kiwi and Waimarama Surf Life Saving Clubs.

The awards formalities will commence at 5.15pm with the presentation of lifesaving, sport and regional awards.

Debbie Moodie, Club Development Officer for Hawke's Bay, says they are looking forward to celebrating the region's top lifeguards, volunteers and sports people.

Tickets cost $10 per person and are available through club admins.

Awards of Excellence finalists:

Volunteer of the Year:
Jason Broome, Waimarama
Karen Greenslade, Pacific
Helen Jackson , Ocean Beach Kiwi

Lifeguard of the Year:
Andrew Callinicos, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Leah Cooper, Pacific
Rhys Harman, Waimarama
Sean Meagher , Westshore

Innovation of the Year:
Michael Finlayson - Waimarama Tower
Helen Jackson - IRB Plan, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Instructor of the Year:
Jess Bennett, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Brian Quirk, Westshore

Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf:
Anne Cooper, Pacific
Neil Galland, Westshore
Jarrod Lowe, Waimarama

Outstanding Sportsmanship Junior Surf:
Sam Connor, Waimarama
Rachel Klem, Westshore

Outstanding Contribution to Powercraft:
Taylor Dick, Westshore
Mike Harman, Waimarama
Helen Jackson, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Legend Ironman:
Kieran Kruger, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Jonty Laver, Waimarama

Most Improved Athlete (Hume Cup):
Joshua Lee, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Logan Sanko, Waimarama

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Male:
Ben Cross, Waimarama
Ben Lewis, Ocean Beach Kiwi

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Female:
Amiria Bates, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Georgia Rathbone, Waimarama

Sportsperson of the Year:
Michael Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
Ben Lewis, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Georgia Rathbone, Waimarama

Sports Team of the Year:
Ocean Beach Kiwi U16 Men's Beach Relay Team
Pacific U19 Women's Canoe Crew
Waimarama Premier IRB Crew
Westshore Masters Boat Crew - Red

Surf Official of the Year:
Denys Carpenter, Pacific
Harley McLaughlin, Waimarama
Mike O'Malley, Pacific
Trina Wills, Westshore

Coach of the Year:
Michael Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
Cian Jefferson, Westshore
Gavin Gilbert, Pacific
Greg Larsen, Ocean Beach Kiwi

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 0276 488 823 or email

or  Debbie Moodie, Hawke's Bay Club Development Officer, SLSNZ
Phone 0274 213 506 or email