Capital Coast Awards of Excellence winners announced

Sunday, 11 June 2017

Levin-Waitarere Surf Life Saving Club's Nathan Berry was honoured last night as the Capital Coast's top lifeguard.

The 2017 Capital Coast Awards of Excellence ceremony took place at the Porirua Club and included Palmerston North, Riversdale, Levin-Waitarere, Foxton, Otaki, Paekakariki, Titahi Bay, Maranui, Lyall Bay and Worser Bay Surf Life Saving Clubs.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise members for their hard work and dedication to surf lifesaving in New Zealand.

Twenty-six year-old Berry was named Lifeguard of the Year in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the delivery and development of drowning prevention services for Surf Life Saving on the Capital Coast.

One of the other top awards for the night, Volunteer of the Year, was awarded to Nick Mulcahy from Titahi Bay Surf Life Saving Club. The purpose of this award is to recognise an outstanding member who has made a significant volunteer contribution to enhancing Surf Life Saving within their local area during the patrol season.

Nathan and Nick will go on to be finalists in the national Surf Life Saving New Zealand Awards of Excellence, being held in Auckland in September.

Club of the Year and Rescue of the Year were both awarded to Otaki Surf Life Saving Club.

Other awards handed out included Regional Service Awards and local sports awards.

Awards of Excellence winners:

U19 Lifeguard of the Year: Sophrose London, Otaki
Lifeguard of the Year: Nathan Berry, Levin-Waitarere
Instructor of the Year: Dwight Garton, Paekakariki
Sportsperson of the Year: Kayla Imrie, Paekakariki
U19 Sportsperson of the Year: Luther Maxwell, Lyall Bay
Sports Team of the Year: Titahi Bay Open Men's Boat crew
Coach of the Year: Walter Maxwell, Lyall Bay
Surf Official of the Year: Glen Jones, Titahi Bay
Volunteer of the Year: Nick Mulcahy, Titahi Bay
Innovation of the Year: Titahi Bay Coastal Research project
Club of the Year: Otaki
Rescue of the Year: Otaki

Capital Coast Service Awards:
Nick Mulcahy, Titahi Bay- Service Award
Paul Carlyon, Otaki- Life Member

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 0276 488 823 or email 

Or Sarah Traver, Capital Coast Club Development Officer, SLSNZ
Phone 027-844-6758 or email