Capital Coast Awards of Excellence finalists announced

Friday, 2 June 2017

The top lifeguards, volunteers and sports people from Surf Life Saving Clubs along the Capital Coast will be celebrated this month at the annual Awards of Excellence.

The finalists have just been announced ahead of the ceremony which will take place on Saturday June 10 at the Porirua Club and include Palmerston North, Riversdale, Levin-Waitarere, Foxton, Otaki, Paekakariki, Titahi Bay, Maranui, Lyall Bay and Worser Bay Surf Life Saving Clubs.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise members for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

Some of the night's top awards will include Lifeguard of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Club of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year and Coach of the Year. There will also be the presentation of Regional Service Awards.

The awards formalities will commence at 6.30pm.

2017 Capital Coast Awards of Excellence finalists:

Lifeguard of the Year:
Isacc Hyde, Otaki
Amy Spiekerman, Paekakariki
Elis Hickson-Rowden, Worser Bay
J'Adoube Elkington, Titahi Bay
Nathan Berry, Levin-Waitarere
Peter Taylor, Riversdale
Sam Richardson, Lyall Bay

Volunteer of Year:
Nick Mulcahy, Titahi Bay
Andrew Bates, Lyall Bay
Dave Rose, Riversdale
Elizabeth Baty , Palmerston North
Paula Wood, Maranui
Susanne Blatch, Levin, Waitarere
Tessa Bruin, Worser Bay
David Jones, Paekakariki

Innovation of the Year:
Foxton- number plate surround
Riversdale- First Aid Project
Capital Coast Local Lifesaving Committee- Foxton Patrol Project
Titahi Bay- Coastal Research Project

U19 Lifeguard of Year:
Sophrose London, Otaki
Anna & Olivia Harding, Levin-Waitarere
Alan McVicar, Titahi Bay
Grace Kingi, Lyall Bay
John Tuia, Maranui
Millie Malin, Worser Bay
Thomas Downs, Paekakariki

Surf Official of the Year:
Yolande Brophy, Paekakariki
Glen Jones, Titahi Bay

Sports Team of Year:
Paekakariki U23 Women's Boat Crew
Lyall Bay U16 Men's Surf Team & Tube Rescue Team, Lyall Bay
Palmerston North U19 Women's Canoe Crew, Palmerston North
Titahi Bay Open Men's Boat Crew, Titahi Bay

Sportsperson of Year:
Kayla Imrie, Paekakariki
Lewis Clareburt, Lyall Bay

U19 Sportsperson of the Year:
Nicolas Cecioni, Paekakariki
Luther Maxwell, Lyall Bay

Coach of the Year
Shane Radovanovich, Paekakariki
Walter Maxwell, Lyall Bay
Jaden Frunt, Palmerston North

Instructor of the Year:
Anna McDonnell, Maranui
Dwight Garton, Paekakariki
Grace Kingi, Lyall Bay
Mark Peni, Levin-Waitarere

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 0276 488 823 or email

or Sarah Traver, Capital Coast Club Development Officer, SLSNZ
Phone 027-844-6758 or email