National event venues confirmed for 2018 2019 season

Thursday, 20 July 2017

The venues for Surf Life Saving New Zealand's national events for the 2018/2019 season have been confirmed along with their tentative dates.

The New Zealand Pool Championships will once again return to the Sir Owen G. Glenn National Aquatics Centre in Auckland.

The BP IRB Championships will head to Lyall Bay for the North Island Championships and Waikouaiti in Otago for the South Island and New Zealand Championships.

Oceans '19 and the New Zealand Surf Life Saving Championships will both return to Mount Maunganui Main Beach.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Sport Manager Mike Lord says in reviewing the applications, the National Sport Committee (NSC) also looked at the effectiveness of the bidding process itself.

"With the same clubs typically bidding for multiple years, it was evident some thinking needed to go into a rotational plan. Based on this discussion, the NSC decided to make recommendations for the 2018/19 season venues only and undertake further work around developing a list of suitable venues for each of the major events that could be included in a rotation plan for 2019/20 onwards," he says.


New Zealand Pool Championships: 12-14 October 2018 at  Sir Owen G. Glenn National Aquatics Centre, Auckland
BP North Island IRB Championships: 16 February 2019 at Lyall Bay
BP South Island IRB Championships: 16 March 2019 at Waikouaiti
Surf Life Saving New Zealand U14 Championships (Oceans): 7-10 March 2019 at Mt Maunganui
TSB Bank Surf Life Saving New Zealand Championships (including Masters): 21-24 March 2019 at Mt Maunganui
BP New Zealand IRB Championships: 6-7 April 2019 at Waikouaiti