2016 service award recipients announced

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce it will be awarding 38 members with special service awards at this year's Awards of Excellence.

Every year, a number of Service, Distinguished Service, 50 Year Badges and Life Memberships are given to Surf Life Saving members to officially honour their dedication to Surf Life Saving and recognise how much they have given to their local communities over the years.

Holders of the SLSNZ Service Award have given outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a period of years while holders of the Distinguished Service Award have continued to give outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a further period of years.

The 50 Year Badge is given to members who have dedicated 50 years of service to Surf Life Saving within New Zealand and Life Memberships are awarded to those members who have been active members for at least 25 years and who have provided exemplary service at a national level.

The 2016 Surf Life Saving Awards of Excellence is taking place at the Heritage Hotel in Auckland on Saturday September 24.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand CEO Paul Dalton says the annual awards are a fantastic opportunity to honour all of the dedicated members who have given so much to their local communities over the years.

Service Award:

Michael Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
Jess Bennett, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Shane Bennett, Ocean Beach Kiwi
David Boersen, Pauanui
Tom Burgess, Orewa
Denys Carpenter, Pacific
Andrew Cochrane, Waihi Beach
Kate Dench, Palmerston North
Patrick Flynn, Sunset Beach
Phil Harman, Waimarama
Fraser Harvey, Karekare
Neil Hubbard, Pacific
Mark Jenkinson, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Mark Johnston, Orewa
Brent Lane, Karekare
Christiaan Maarhuis, Waihi Beach
Alec Mackay, Palmerston North
John McLarin, Karekare
Harley McLaughlin, Waimarama
Debbie Moodie, Westshore
Damian Munro, Mt Maunganui
Harold Pearse, Waimarama
Russell Philp, Fitzroy
Shaun Sayer, Foxton
Matt Wade, Karekare
Kubi Witten-Hannah, Karekare

Distinguished Service Award:

Seth McPhee, Brighton

Life Membership:

Curly (Royce) Evans, Foxton

50 Year Badge:

George Imlach, Lyall Bay
Kent Jarman MNZM, Mt Maunganui
Gregory Larsen, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Phil Morgan, Whakatane
Valerie Morrison, Mairangi Bay
Robert Pitcairn, East End
Brian Quirk, Westshore
Patricia (Trish) Reid, Muriwai
Graeme Trevor, North Beach
John Williams, Opunake

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823