2016 Awards of Excellence finalists announced

Friday, 16 September 2016

Every year, national and local awards are given to Surf Life Saving members to officially recognise them for their hard work and dedication to saving lives and preventing drowning on New Zealand's beaches. 

Most awards are nominated locally with winners from their regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies then becoming finalists for the national Awards of Excellence.

The 2016 Surf Life Saving New Zealand Awards of Excellence will be held at the Heritage Hotel in Auckland on Saturday September 24.

Some of the night's top awards include NZ Lottery Grants Board Lifeguard of the Year, DHL Volunteer of the Year and the BP Surf Rescue of the Year.

Along with the lifeguarding and sporting awards, there will be a number of Service Awards presented on the night.

We are pleased to announce the 2016 Awards of Excellence finalists:

NZLGB Lifeguard of the Year: 
Ollie Irwin, Northern Region
Christiaan Maahuis, Coromadel
Shaun Smith, Bay of Plenty
Michelle Mitchell, Gisborne
James Laver, Hawke's Bay
David Bentley, Taranaki
Isacc Hyde, Capital Coast
Craig Jamieson, Canterbury
Nic Brice, Otago

DHL Volunteer of the Year:
Joanne Hobson, Northern
Donal Boyle, Bay of Plenty
Susan Stewart, Coromandel
Calum Wilson, Gisborne
Jess Bennett, Hawke's Bay
Joanne Brimelow, Taranaki
Justine Fleming, Capital Coast
Blair Quane, Canterbury
Owen West, Otago

BP Rescue of the Year:
Aprril 16 - Muriwai
March 28- Pauanui 
February 21- Bethells Beach
January 31- Capital Coast event safety team
December 29- Tairua
November 24- Piha, Red Beach and Northern Region Beach Education

BP Media Award:
TV3 Story
TVNZ Breakfast
NZ Herald on Sunday
Whakatane Beacon
Radio Live

Wood Group Training First Aid Award:
Capital Coast event safety team
Omaha, Bethells Beach and Kariaotahi
Waihi Beach

DHL Instructor of the Year:
Faron Turner, Northern
Lucy Scown, Coromandel
Garry King, Bay of Plenty
John Minogue, Gisborne
Brian Quirk, Hawke's Bay
Michael Corkill, Taranaki
Sam Richardson, Capital Coast
Tom Denman, Canterbury
Alex Sutherland, Otago

DHL Innovation of the Year:
Tony Pattison, Hawke's Bay
Taranaki Lifesaving Committee, Taranaki
Waimairi ATV, Canterbury
Max Corboy, Otago

Surf Official of the Year: 
Johnny Clough, Northern
Ross Merrett, Bay of Plenty/Coromandel
Debbie Hutchings, Gisborne
Denys Carpenter, Hawke's Bay
Brian Velvin, Taranaki
Teri Anderson, Capital Coast
Graeme Trevor, Canterbury
Doug Henderson, Otago

Coach of the Year: 
Shane Edwards, Northern
Matt Cairns, Bay of Plenty/Coromandel
Cory Hutchings & Dion Williams, Gisborne
Cain Jefferson, Hawke's Bay
Ron Cole, Taranaki
Shane Radovanovich, Capital Coast
Janice Murdoch & Mark Robberds, Canterbury
Michael Trembath, Otago

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823