NZ Surf Boat Crews selected for Trans-Tasman Challenge

Friday, 4 November 2016

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the surf boat crews that have been selected to represent New Zealand at the 2017 Trans-Tasman Challenge at Waihi Beach on Saturday February 4.

The teams were announced today at the conclusion of the New Zealand Surf Boat Trials held at Mt Maunganui.

The Trans-Tasman Challenge will be incorporated into a full weekend of Surf Boat action at Waihi which will also see round three of the New Zealand Surf Boat Series the North Island Surf Boat Championships, the New Zealand Representative Surf Boat Challenge and Champion of Champions surf boat events all taking place across the weekend.

The Trans-Tasman Challenge will be a three race series for the Open Men and Women's crews with combined points accumulating to a champion nation who will be presented with the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge trophy.

The three races will be made up of two long course events and one short course event.

The Open crews will also be accompanied by two New Zealand Development crews who will race against the Open crews in the three race series.

Congratulations to the selected athletes.

Open Men - North Beach
1. Frano Staub
2. Daniel Smith
3. Nathan Keys
4. Richard Newsome-White
5. Dean Isherwood (Sweep)

Open Women - Muriwai
1. Nicole Owen
2. Kathryn Wright
3. Jessica Parkin
4. Alison Craigie
5. Ricky Butt (Sweep)

Development Men - Whangamata
1. Sam Stockley
2. Lydon Vickers
3. Josh Kerridge
4. Brandon Dromgool
5. Andrew Jujnovich

Development Women - Muriwai
1. Grace Joseph
2. Jaime Gunderson
3. Lucy Kelly
4. Alex Murden
5. Danny Tenheuvel

The New Zealand Surf Boat team is to be managed by Clayton Kellett.

Thank you to the selectors Craig Dillon, Clayton Kellett, Neil Watts along with the volunteer officials that assisted in running the trial.

Click here to view more photos.


For more information, please contact:

Mike Lord, Sport Manager, SLSNZ
Phone 0274 571 025