2016 Capital Coast Awards of Excellence winners

Posted by SLSNZ Media on Sunday, May 22, 2016

Local Surf Life Saving Club members celebrated another successful season at the 2016 Capital Coast Awards of Excellence in Plimmerton last night.

Two of the night's top awards were awarded to members of Otaki Surf Life Saving Club. Lifeguard of the Year was awarded to Isacc Hyde and Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Justine Fleming.

Rescue of the Year was awarded to Event Lifeguards for a rescue at the Capital Classic event swim and Club of the Year was awarded to Paekakariki Surf Life Saving Club.

Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Capital Coast area includes Palmerston North, Riversdale, Levin-Waitarere, Foxton, Otaki, Paekakariki, Titahi Bay, Maranui, Lyall Bay and Worser Bay.

Award winners:

Lifeguard of the Year
Isacc Hyde, Otaki

Volunteer of the Year
Justine Fleming, Otaki

U19 Lifeguard of the Year
Felix Crowe, Otaki

Instructor of the Year
Sam Richardson, Lyall Bay

Rescue of the Year
Event Lifeguards - Capital Classic Ocean Swim

Sports Person of the Year
Marty McDowell, Titahi Bay

Sports Team of the Year
Titahi Bay U23 Women's Boat Crew, Titahi Bay

U19 Sports Person of the Year
Ishmael Perkins - Banse, Maranui

Official of the Year
Teri Anderson, Paekakariki

Coach of the Year
Shane Radovanovich, Paekakariki

Club of the Year

Service Awards
Dwight Garton, Paekakariki
David Clarke, Palmerston North
Sandra Bednarek, Paekakariki

Distinguished Service Awards
David Pontin, Palmerston North
Michael Clarke, Lyall Bay

Sports Awards - Capital Coast Sports Series

Whitehorse Trophy, Paekakariki

1 Alaynah Bettany, Lyall Bay
2 Ella Kingi, Lyall Bay
3 Brooklyn Saunders, Titahi Bay

1 David Long, Lyall Bay
2 James Hunt, Paekakariki
3 Nicolas Cecioni, Paekakariki

1 Rachael Wilson, Maranui
= Matisse Uluilelata, Paekakariki
2 Tess Allen, Paekakariki
3 Katie Trott, Paekakariki
= Kate Nota, Lyall Bay

1 Matthew Brett , Worser Bay
2 Baxter Cannell, Paekakariki
3 Tom Oolders, Lyall Bay

1 Jonti Cullen, Paekakariki
2 Nicola Trott, Paekakariki
3 Hayley Cox, Lyall Bay
= Bronagh Ryan, Titahi Bay

1 Tyler Cannell, Paekakariki
2 Tyler Maxwell, Lyall Bay
3 Kurtis Imrie, Paekakariki


For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823
Email lisa.smith@surflifesaving.org.nz

« Previous Article Next Article »