Canterbury heroes recognised at lifesaving awards

Sunday, 12 June 2016

Surf lifeguards who patrol Canterbury's beaches have been honoured for their hard work and dedication to saving lives at the 2016 Canterbury Awards of Excellence.

The celebration of surf lifesaving took place at the Mashina Lounge in Christchurch on Saturday night.

One of the night's top awards, Lifeguard of the Year, was awarded to Craig Jamieson from Taylors Mistake Surf Life Saving Club.

The purpose of this award is to recognise a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the delivery and development of drowning prevention services for Surf Life Saving. It is aimed at active surf lifeguards undertaking lifeguarding duties.

Receiving Lifeguard of the Year is a huge honour and Craig has shown a great deal of dedication to his club and community throughout another busy season.

Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Blair Quane from Sumner Surf Life Saving Club.

The purpose of this award is to recognise an outstanding member who has made a significant volunteer contribution to enhancing surf lifesaving within their local area during the 2015/2016 season.

It takes a lot of commitment to be a volunteer and Blair is a highly valued members of his club. This recognition is proof of that.

Craig and Blair will go on to be finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence, being held in Auckland in September.

Rescue of the Year was awarded to Taylors Mistake for a rescue of a large group of people from a rip at the eastern end of the beach on February 27.

Club of the Year was awarded to Spencer Park Surf Life Saving Club.

Other awards handed out tonight included Regional Service Awards and local sports awards.

Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Canterbury area include Waikuku Beach, Spencer Park, Waimairi, North Beach, New Brighton, South Brighton, Sumner and Taylor's Mistake.

Full list of award winners:

Lifeguard of the Year
Craig Jamieson - Taylors Mistake

Volunteer of the Year
Blair Quane - Sumner

Rescue of the Year
Taylors Mistake

Club of the Year
Spencer Park Surf Life Saving Club

Innovation of the Year
Waimairi SLSC - ATV Schedule

Official of the year
Graeme Trevor - North Beach

Coaches of the Year
Janice Murdoch - Waimairi
Mark Robberds - Sumner / Regional

Sports Person of the Year
Morgan Foster - South Brighton

Sports Team of the Year
Waimairi Woman's Canoe Crew

Instructor / Examiner of the Year
Tom Denman - Sumner


Daryl Poulsen accepts the Club of the Year award for Spencer Park.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823