2016 Taranaki Awards of Excellence finalists named

Posted by SLSNZ Media on Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Taranaki region will celebrate another successful season of saving lives at this year's awards ceremony.

The 2016 Wood Group Training Surf Life Saving Taranaki Awards of Excellence will be held at the Devon Hotel in New Plymouth on Saturday July 9.

The two big awards for the night will be Lifeguard of the Year and Volunteer of the Year. There will also be a host of other lifesaving, sport and service awards.

Surf Life Saving Clubs in Taranaki include Fitzroy, East End, New Plymouth Old Boys and Opunake.

Taranaki Club Support Officer Chanon Cations-Velvin says the region's lifeguards put in close to 9,000 hours on patrol throughout the 2015/16 season, rescuing over 19 people from life threatening situations. "This is the night for them to come together and be recognised for their outstanding achievements," she says.

Award finalists:

Ron Cole, Fitzroy
Trent Oliver, Opunake
Joel Meuli, East End
NPOB Building Committee, New Plymouth Old Boys
Life Saving Committee, East End
Anna Beavis, Fitzroy
Michael Corkill, Opunake
Darren James, Fitzroy
Jordan Hooper, Opunake
David Bentley, East End
Carolyn Matuku, Fitzroy
James Aitken, Opunake
Rhys Clark, New Plymouth Old Boys
David Bentley, East End
Mitchell Owen, New Plymouth Old Boys
Paul Cracroft-Wilson, Fitzroy
Joel Meuli, East End
Fitzroy Masters, Fitzroy
Rebecca Cole, Fitzroy
Brian Velvin, Fitzroy
Valda Walsh, East End
Zac Reid, Fitzroy
Aimee Daniels and Jenna Barrett, New Plymouth Old Boys
Sasha Reid and Abby Collins, Fitzroy
Hannah O'Connor, Fitzroy
Holly Horo, Opunake
Sinead Malley, East End
Jenna Barrett, New Plymouth Old Boys
Jason Peacock, New Plymouth Old Boys
Joanne Brimelow, Fitzroy
Michael DeBique, Opunake
Paul Meuli, East End

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823
Email lisa.smith@surflifesaving.org.nz

« Previous Article Next Article »