2016 Northern Region award winners

Posted by SLSNZ Media on Sunday, June 26, 2016

Surf Life Saving Northern Region has celebrated the achievements of its members over the past season at its annual awards ceremony.

The 2016 Toyota Financial Services Northern Region Awards of Excellence were held on Saturday night at Shed 10 on Auckland's Queen's Wharf.

Around 350 people were in attendance, including Deputy Mayor Penny Hulse and Surf Life Saving ambassador Jamie McDell who performed some of her hit songs.

The celebration of surf lifesaving included the presentation of regional, lifesaving, sports and honours awards.

One of the night's top awards, Harcourts Lifeguard of the Year, was awarded to Ollie Irwin from Bethells Beach. The purpose of this award is to recognise a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the delivery and development of drowning prevention services. It is aimed at active surf lifeguards undertaking lifeguarding duties.

Ollie is a long serving member of Surf Life Saving as well as his club. He is a passionate and active patrolling member but also volunteers his time and skills to other clubs. He is a great role model and leads by example.

Surf Life Saving Northern Region CEO Matt Williams says "Ollie is an outstanding asset to Bethells Beach, Northern Region and the surf lifesaving community."

Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Joanne Hobson from Sunset Beach. The purpose of this award is to recognise an outstanding member who has made a significant volunteer contribution to enhancing surf lifesaving within their local area during the 2015/2016 season.

Joanne has actively patrolled for over 120 hours in the role of Vice Patrol Captain as well overseeing, mentoring and training new lifeguards and instructors. She has also taken on administration tasks and helped out with fundraising, monitoring subscriptions and refreshers and arranging first aid courses. She also coaches and is on the club committee.

Mr Williams says being a volunteer is a huge commitment and Joanne is very deserving of this recognition.

Rescue of the Year was awarded to Piha Surf Life Saving Club, Red Beach and Northern Region Beach Education for the off-season rescue of a young girl at North Piha.

Their extraordinary efforts were also awarded the national BP Rescue of the Month award for November in Surf Life Saving New Zealand's BP Rescue of the Month awards as well as winning a certificate of achievement at the 2015 NZ Search and Rescue Council Awards.

Club of the Year was awarded to Bethells Beach Surf Life Saving Club.

Mr Williams says all of the region's members have made a huge contribution to surf lifesaving in the Northern Region throughout the 2015/16 season. "They should all be extremely proud of themselves and their fellow club members," he says.

There are 17 Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Northern Region stretching from the Far North to Raglan. Together, they undertook over 650 rescues over the summer season.

Visit http://northernregion.surflifesaving.org.nz/ for more information.


Lifesaving Awards:
Outstanding Contribution to Power Craft- Shane Edwards, Sunset Beach
Instructor of the Year- Faron Turner, Orewa
Rookie Lifeguard of the Year- Jaelyn Fielding, Bethells Beach
U19 Surf Lifeguard of the Year- Tyla Kettle, Raglan
Surf Lifeguard of the Year- Ollie Irwin, Bethells Beach
Examiner of the Year- Jim West, Mairangi Bay
Regional Lifeguard of the Year- Kyle Taylor, Ruakaka

Sport Awards:
Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf- Joanne Hobson, Sunset Beach
U14 Sportswoman of the Year- Astaria Te Aukura, Mairangi Bay
U14 Sportsman of the Year- Flynn Southcombe, Red Beach
Surf Coach of the Year- Shane Edwards, Sunset Beach
Developing Surf Official of the Year- Tom Burgess, Orewa
Surf Official of the Year- Johnny Clough, United North Piha
U16 Sportswoman of the Year- Lucy Makaea, Orewa
U16 Sportsman of the Year- Oscar Williams, Piha
U19 Sportswoman of the Year- Hannah Williams, Piha and Grace Kaihau, Orewa
U19 Sportsman of the Year- Jake Hurley, Mairangi Bay
Open Sportswoman of the Year- Danielle McKenzie, Mairangi Bay
Open Sportsman of the Year- Jake Hurley, Mairangi Bay
Competition Team of the Year- Sunset Beach Women's IRB Crew

Regional Awards:
Volunteer of the Year- Joanne Hobson, Sunset Beach
Surf Education Instructor of the Year- Liam Cunningham, Muriwai
Club Administrator of the Year- Richard Waddel - Mairangi Bay
Best Patrolled Beach- Bethells Beach
Cath & Eddie Millar Cup- Orewa
Junior Competition Club of the Year- Orewa
Senior Competition Club of the Year- Mairangi Bay
Masters Competition Club of the Year- Orewa
Rescue of the Year- Piha Surf Life Saving Club, Red Beach and Northern Region Beach Education
Pool Championships- Orewa
IRB Championships- Sunset Beach
Junior Surf Championships- Red Beach
Northern Region Championships- Mairangi Bay
Club of the Year- Bethells Beach

Service Awards:
Ross Fearon, Mairangi Bay
Shane Burke, Orewa
Warwick Sisson, Orewa
Simon Bell, Waipu
Dylan McCombe, Waipu
Peter Hayward, Waipu
Joanne Hobson, Sunset Beach
Warren Edwards, Sunset Beach
Shane Edwards, Sunset Beach
Terry Wylie, Sunset Beach

Distinguished Service Awards:
Dave Shanks, Orewa
Tom Burgess, Orewa
Michelle Newton, Red Beach

Life Memberships:
Pat Olsen, Red Beach
John Chapman, Orewa

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823
Email lisa.smith@surflifesaving.org.nz

« Previous Article Next Article »