Oar Blacks to take on Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge

Monday, 15 February 2016

Surf Boat crews are set to represent New Zealand in New South Wales this weekend at the annual Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge.

The New Zealand representative teams, known as the Oar Blacks, will race at Shellharbour during the 2016 Team Navy Australian Surf Rowers League Open on Saturday.

The test is a three race challenge for Open Men and Open Women's national teams.

The Open Men's team from Titahi Bay is made up of Jono Boyd, Brett Hamer, Jordan Tyrrell, Chris Middleton and sweep Wil McDowell.

The Open Women's team from Muriwai includes Jessica Parkin, Lisa McCallum, Nicole Owen and Louise Ayling and sweep Ricky Butt.

The teams were selected by a panel of judges based on their performances during the first rounds of the New Zealand Surf Boat Series.

In addition to the open teams, two development teams consisting of athletes under 23 years of age, from Titahi Bay (women's) and Whangamata (men's) have been selected to head to Australia as Surf Life Saving New Zealand aims to promote younger athletes in competition.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand sport manager Mike Lord says the annual Trans-Tasman competition is always an exciting event. "We love a good competition against Australia and the annual test gives us the opportunity to see how our crews are standing up on an international stage. Last year, we raced on home soil, so it will be good to test ourselves off shore this time," he says.

The weekend's racing will begin on Friday with the 2016 Interstate Championships and the crews will automatically progress to the quarter finals on Sunday, following the Trans-Tasman challenge.

Live streaming will be available here, including live panel discussions, beach interviews, multiple cameras and expert commentary.

For more information about the event, visit or visit the Facebook event page here.

New Zealand Teams

New Zealand Men's: Titahi Bay
Jono Boyd
Brett Hamer
Jordan Tyrrell
Chris Middleton
Wil McDowell (sweep)

New Zealand Women's: Muriwai
Jessica Parkin
Lisa McCallum
Nicole Owen
Louise Ayling
Ricky Butt (sweep)

New Zealand Men's Development (U23): Whangamata
Sam Stockley
Lyndon Vickers
Josh Kerridge
Brandon Dromgool
Andrew Jujnovich (sweep)

New Zealand Women's Development (U23): Titahi Bay
Georgia McLaren
Kathryn Kinvig
Tessa McPherson
Tracey Mills
Tim Marsden (sweep)

Event Schedule:

Friday February 19: 2016 Interstate Championships (5.30pm- 7.30pm NZST)
Saturday February 20: Trans-Tasman Competition NZ vs AUS (11.30am-2.30pm NZST)
Sunday February 21: All quarter finals, semi-finals and finals of each division live (11.30am-4pm NZST) 


For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823