Oar Blacks miss out on Trans-Tasman surf boat title

Monday, 22 February 2016

The Oar Blacks missed out on the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat title at the Australian Surf Rowers League (ASRL) Open at Shellharbour, New South Wales over the weekend.

The test on Saturday was a three race challenge for national teams with the women being represented by Muriwai and the men from Titahi Bay.

The women's crew (Jessica Parkin, Lisa McCallum, Nicole Owen and Louise Ayling and sweep Ricky Butt) lost 3-0 to Australia while the men's crew (Jono Boyd, Brett Hamer, Jordan Tyrrell, Chris Middleton and sweep Wil McDowell) took out one race, finishing 2-1 to Australia.

In addition to the open teams, two development teams consisting of athletes under 23 years of age, from Titahi Bay (women's) and Whangamata (men's) were also selected to take part.

The Under 23 women's development team from Titahi Bay (Georgia McLaren, Kathryn Kinvig, Tessa McPherson, Tracey Mills and sweep Tim Marsden) won 2-1 to Australia.

The development men's team from Whangamata (Lyndon Vickers, Josh Kerridge, Brandon Dromgool and sweep Andrew Jujnovich) finished 3-0 to Australia.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand sport manager Mike Lord says the annual Trans-Tasman competition is always an exciting event. "Unfortunately, we couldn't take out the title this year but we are proud of the way our crews raced and represented New Zealand over the weekend. Australia raced hard and our crews gave it their best against some tough competition."

Mr Lord says the highlight was seeing the women's development team win their test two races to one.

"The aim of taking over a development crew was to help promote younger athletes in competition and to have them racing at an international level, and winning, is a great sign for the future of our younger racers," he says.

Part of the ASRL Open included the Interstate Championships and the New Zealand crews automatically qualified for the quarter finals which took place on Sunday.

The Titahi Bay crews put up a good fight with the Open men's crews and Under 23 women's development crews both coming in second place in their division.

Mr Lord says special thanks must go to team manager Clayton Kellett for his efforts with the crews at this year's event.


Open Men
1st - Australia
2nd - New Zealand

Open Women
1st - Australia
2nd - New Zealand

Under 23 Men Development
1st - Australia
2nd - New Zealand

Under 23 Women Development
1st - New Zealand
2nd - Australia

1st - Australia
2nd - New Zealand


New Zealand crews at the 2016 ASRL Open at Shellharbour, New South Wales.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823