2015 service award recipients announced

Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce it will be awarding 35 members with service awards at this year's Awards of Excellence.

Every year, a number of Service, Distinguished Service, 50 Year Badges and Life Memberships are given to Surf Life Saving members to officially recognise them for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

Holders of the SLSNZ Service Award have given outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a period of years while holders of the Distinguished Service Award have continued to give outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a further period of years.

The 50 Year Badge is given to members who have dedicated 50 years of service to Surf Life Saving within New Zealand and Life Memberships are awarded to those members who have been active members for at least 25 years and who have provided exemplary service at a national level.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand CEO Paul Dalton says the annual awards are a fantastic opportunity to honour our dedicated members who have given so much to their local communities over the years.

The 2015 Awards of Excellence evening will be held at the Amora Hotel in Wellington on Saturday September 19.

Service Awards:
• Robin Bigwood, Otaki
• Neil Bognuda, Worser Bay
• Michael Clarke, Lyall Bay
• Joel Davies, St Clair
• Grant Edwards, Spencer Park
• Adam Fraser, Fitzroy
• Lauren Gibbs, Bethells Beach
• Ian Godfrey, Waipu Cove
• Janine Ibbs, Sunset Beach
• Tai Kahn, Whangarei Heads
• Greg Larsen, Ocean Beach Kiwi
• Carla Laughton, St Clair
• Chris McCullough, Red Beach
• Rohan McNaughton, South Brighton
• Arie Moore, Lyall Bay
• Leza Papps, Lyall Bay
• Ross Peters, Fitzroy
• Dean Pouwhare, Red Beach
• Dave Shanks, Orewa
• Danielle Shepherd, Mt Maunganui
• Glennys Smith, Sunset Beach
• Dean Thomas, Kotuku

Distinguished Service Award:
• Deborah Hutchings, Waikanae

50 Year Badge:
• Ross Fraser, Fitzroy
• Roddy Freeman , Titahi Bay
• Brian Grace, Titahi Bay
• Stuart Keven, Sunset Beach
• Paul Knight, United North Piha
• Ewan Lang, Titahi Bay
• John Power, Fitzroy
• Paul Ryan, Fitzroy & Lyall Bay

Life Membership:
• Ross Doyle, Fitzroy
• Wayne Franich, Orewa
• Dave Price, North Beach
• Brent Warner, Mount Maunganui

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823