2015 Awards of Excellence finalists announced

Monday, 14 September 2015

Some of New Zealand's most elite Surf Lifeguards and members will be recognised for their dedication to preventing drowning and injury on New Zealand's beaches this weekend at a formal awards ceremony.

The 2015 Surf Life Saving New Zealand Awards of Excellence will be held at the Amora Hotel in Wellington on September 19 following the SLSNZ Annual General Meeting and Club Chairs Strategy Meeting.

Every year, national and local awards are given to Surf Life Saving members to officially recognise them for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

Most awards are nominated locally with winners then becoming finalists for the national Awards of Excellence.

Some of the night's top awards include NZ Lottery Grants Board Lifeguard of the Year, DHL Volunteer of the Year and the BP Surf Rescue of the Year.

TV presenter Stephen McIvor will act as MC for the evening.

Along with the lifeguarding and sporting awards, there will be a number of Service Awards presented on the night and these will be announced this week.

We are pleased to announce the following award finalists:

NZLGB Lifeguard of the Year
• Zane Rademaker, United North Piha
• Thomas Yule, Omanu
• Christiaan Maarhuis, Waihi Beach
• Samuel Teteina, Midway
• Aidan Charman, Westshore
• Scott Busing, East End
• David Clarke, Palmerston North
• Kate Suter, Sumner
• Paige Newman, Brighton

DHL Volunteer of the Year
• Malcolm Beattie, Sunset Beach
• Naomi Davoren, Papamoa
• Rob Ford, Tairua
• Tracy Low, Wainui
• Anne Cooper, Pacific
• Vaughan Garrett, New Plymouth
• Paul Carlyon, Otaki
• Tisha Bradley, Taylors Mistake
• Tarn Neuman, Warrington

BP Rescue of the Year
• Kariaotahi
• Raglan
• Whangarei Heads
• Taranaki Callout Squad
• Westshore
• Muriwai and Northern Region

State Insurance Instructor of the Year
• Jessica Reilly, Raglan
• Gary King, Mount Maunganui
• Eden Bray, Whangamata
• Diego Pedrioli, Midway
• Brian Quirk, Westshore
• Michael Corkill, Opunake
• Nick Mulcahy, Titahi Bay
• Bruce Lomax, South Brighton
• Seth McPhee, Brighton

Innovation of the Year
• Raglan: solar roof panels
• Thomas Yule, Omanu: K9 rescue dogs
• Waihi Beach: holiday programme
• Ngati Porou: community based surf lifesaving practices, including roving patrol
• Simon Kay, Pacific: Surf Education song
• Fitzroy: Woodgroup PSN first aid partnership
• Foxton: patrol camera

DHL Surf Official of the Year
• Wayne Franich, Orewa
• Ross Merrett, Papamoa
• Debbie Hutchings, Waikanae
• Harley McLaughlin, Waimarama
• Carol McLeod, Fitzroy
• Natasha Perkins, Paekakariki
• Lawrence Taylor, Sumner
• Swannee Taiawa, Brighton

DHL Coach of the Year
• Steven Ferguson, Piha
• Justin Martin, Papamoa
• Matt Sutton, Midway
• Michael Harman, Waimarama
• Allan Rothwell, East End
• Walter Maxwell, Lyall Bay
• Jonelle Quane, Sumner
• Michael Trembath, St Clair
• Jason Pocock (Mairangi Bay) & Scott Bartlett (Omanu) 

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823