Candidates, Instructors and Mentors announced for 2015/16 National Lifeguard School

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the candidates, along with the team of Instructors and Mentors, that have been selected for this season's National Lifeguard Schools. 

The National Lifeguard School is Surf Life Saving New Zealand's highest surf lifesaving course in which candidates undergo intense training to gain their Advanced Lifeguard Award- the highest qualification when it comes to lifeguarding in New Zealand.

The schools combine dynamic theory sessions with a number of intensive practical and scenario based activities extending participants both physically and mentally - honing already advanced skills.

Thirty eight lifeguards will take part in two schools in the 2015/16 season at Whiritoa in the Coromandel and Fitzroy in Taranaki.


Zane Rademaker, United North Piha
Hamish Marsden, Mairangi Bay
Sam Walters, Mairangi Bay
Mark Edwards, Sunset Beach
Robbie Shrimpton, Sunset Beach
Taylor Shrimpton, Sunset Beach
Pia Goldsmith, Bethells Beach
Jessica Reilly, Raglan
Fletcher Swan, Omanu
Christiaan Maarhuis, Waihi
Anna Swanney, Waihi
Ellena Regan, Waihi
Rikayla Richardson, Waihi
Laura Beanland-Stephens, Tairua
Connor Mitchell, Waikanae
Michelle Mitchell, Waikanae
Ashleigh Hurring, Waikanae
Samuel Teteina, Midway
Libby Clifton, Whiritoa
Julia Conway, Mt Maunganui
Jamie Troughton, Mt Maunganui
Connor Cawley, Hot Water Beach
David Hotham, Hot Water Beach
Mark Redmond, Maketu
Samuel Perry, Paekakariki
Mac Hepburn, Riversdale Beach
Felix Crowe, Otaki
Michael Corkill, Opunake
Sarah Wilson, Fitzroy
Rebecca Busing, East End
Kieran Kruger, Ocean Beach Kiwi
Toni Cranko, Sumner
Jade Jeffery, Sumner
Kate Suter, Sumner
Lucy Johnson, Sumner
Caitlin Ruddle, Waimairi
Alex Sutherland, Brighton
Brendon Ferguson, Rarangi

SLSNZ Member Development Manager Belinda Slement says candidates that have taken part in previous season's National Lifeguard Schools have really set the bar high. "This season's candidates are also of an exceptionally high calibre so I look forward to seeing them progress," she says.

Six Instructors and four Mentors will assist this year's candidates throughout the process and Mrs Slement says once again, the calibre of applications made this year's selection process very difficult.

"The team selected for this year's schools demonstrate a high level of club and regional involvement, experience and leadership. With this great team and our strong candidates this year, we expect the National Lifeguard School to offer a high level of learning and lifeguard development," she says.


Gavin Mason, St Clair
Ben Flynn, Paekakariki
Adam Fraser, Fitzroy
Seth McPhee, Brighton
David Clarke, Palmerston North
Martine Smith, Pauanui


Naomi Darvill, Sumner
James Lloyd, Waihi Beach
Kenjiro Takano, Whangamata
Chris Harrison, Ocean Beach Kiwi

To learn more about National Lifeguard School, please click here.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Smith, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823