Local heroes recognised at Southland awards

Thursday, 21 May 2015

The Otago/Southland region is getting set to celebrate the Surf Life Saving season and its members' achievements at this year's awards ceremony.

The 2015 Otago/Southland Awards of Excellence will be held at the Brighton Surf Life Saving Club on Saturday May 23 from 6.30pm.

Sam Clutterbuck, SLSNZ Club Development Officer for the Otago, says the awards are an exciting time on the calendar for local members. "It's a great opportunity to celebrate all that they have achieved after a busy season," he says.

The three big awards for the night will be Lifeguard of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Rescue of the Year.

The winners will go on to be finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence in September.

There will also be a host of other lifesaving and sport awards presented on the night.

Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Otago/Southland area include Warrington, St Kilda, St Clair, Brighton, Kaka Point and Oreti.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823