Capital Coast to celebrate member achievement

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

The Capital Coast is getting set to celebrate the Surf Life Saving season and its members' achievements at this year's awards ceremony.

The 2015 Capital Coast Awards of Excellence will be held at the Plimmerton Boating Club on Saturday May 23 from 6.30pm.

SLSNZ President Neale Ames will be attending the ceremony to present the Service, Distinguished Service and Life Membership Awards to some worthy members.

Zoë Canvin, SLSNZ Club Development Officer for the Capital Coast, says the awards are an exciting time on the calendar for local members. "It's a great opportunity to celebrate all that they have achieved after a busy season," she says.

The three big awards for the night will be Lifeguard of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Rescue of the Year.

The 2014 Lifeguard of the Year Nick Mulcahy has once again been nominated, this time as Instructor of the Year. Fellow Titahi Bay club members Peter Jones, Carl Jones and Darren Stapleton have been nominated for Volunteer, Lifeguard and U19 Lifeguard of the Year respectively.

The winners will go on to be finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence in September.

There will also be a host of other lifesaving and sport awards presented on the night.

Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Capital Coast area include Lyall Bay, Maranui, Worser Bay, Titahi Bay, Paekakariki, Levin-Waitarere, Foxton, Otaki, Riversdale and Palmerston North.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823