2015 Sanyo Cup team announced

Thursday, 21 May 2015

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the New Zealand selection team heading over to the 2015 Sanyo Cup in Japan.

The team of eight athletes features three of the 2014 World Champion Black Fins; Max Beattie (Omanu), Danielle McKenzie (Mairangi Bay) and Cory Taylor (Midway).

They are joined by fellow New Zealand Open Squad members Zoe Hobbs (Fitzroy), Carina Doyle (St Clair), Ben Johnston (Papamoa) and Kodi Harman (Papamoa).

Completing the line-up is New Zealand Development Squad member Hannah Williams (Piha).

The 2015 Sanyo Bussan International Lifesaving Cup is being held in Aoshima Beach, Miyazaki, Japan from July 19-20.

Events include Surf Race, Board Race, Oceanman/woman, Beach Flags, Beach Sprint, Board Rescue Tube Rescue, Oceanwoman Relay and Beach Relay.

To keep up to date with the team's journey visit the High Performance Facebook page at or on Twitter @slsnzhp.


Max Beattie, Omanu
Danielle McKenzie, Mairangi Bay
Cory Taylor, Midway
Zoe Hobbs, Fitzroy
Carina Doyle, St Clair
Ben Johnston, Papamoa
Kodi Harman, Papamoa
Hannah Williams, Piha

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823