2015 International Surf Rescue Challenge teams announced

Sunday, 24 May 2015

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the New Zealand Black Fins team and the New Zealand Youth Team heading over to the 2015 International Surf Rescue Challenge being held in Australia in September.

The team of 12 athletes features seven of the 2014 World Champion Black Fins; Max Beattie (Omanu), Danielle McKenzie (Mairangi Bay), Natalie Peat (Papamoa), Chanel Hickman (Mairangi Bay) Chris Dawson (Midway) Paul Cracroft-Wilson (Fitzroy) and Cory Taylor (Midway).

They are joined by fellow New Zealand Open Squad members Devon Halligan (Midway), Teneale Hatton (Piha), Olivia Eaton (Mount Maunganui), Marty McDowell (Titahi Bay) and Adam Simpson (Mount Maunganui).

The competition, which is held every two years, is a gathering of the world's top lifesavers and originally started in 1939 as the Trans-Tasman Series between Australia and New Zealand.

In 1999 South Africa joined the event and the Tri-Nations Challenge was formed. Since 2005 the event has grown and this year the participating countries are Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Korea, New Zealand, USA and Japan.

The 2015 International Surf Rescue Challenge is being held in in Maroochydore Beach on Queensland's Sunshine Coast. Three tests will take place; test one on September 3 followed by tests two and three on September 5 and 6.

Events include Ironman, surf race, surf ski, board relay, beach flags, beach sprints, tube rescue, beach relay and taplin relay.

New Zealand team coach Jason Pocock says he's looking forward to working with the selected athletes to take out the competition. "In 2013, New Zealand finished in second place and we'll be looking to add the ISRC challenge win to our world titles," he says.

New Zealand will also be sending a Youth team to the competition in Australia. Like the Open team, the Youth team features six male and six female athletes.

To keep up to date with the teams' journey visit the High Performance Facebook page at or on Twitter @slsnzhp.

New Zealand Black Fins
Danielle McKenzie, Mairangi Bay
Natalie Peat, Papamoa
Devon Halligan, Midway
Teneale Hatton, Piha
Olivia Eaton, Mt Maunganui
Chanel Hickman, Mairangi Bay
Chris Dawson, Midway
Max Beattie, Omanu
Cory Taylor, Midway
Marty McDowell, Titahi Bay
Paul Cracroft-Wilson, Fitzroy
Adam Simpson, Mt Maunganui

New Zealand Youth Team
Zoe Hobbs, Fitzroy
Kelsi Boocock, Red Beach
Hannah Williams, Piha
Maia Bryant, Papamoa
Olivia Corrin, Midway
Grace Kaihau, Orewa
Jake Hurley, Mairangi Bay
Matthew Scott, Midway
Kane Sefton, Mt Maunganui
Baydon Botha, Mairangi Bay
Hamish Miller, Mt Maunganui
Dylan Williams, Mt Maunganui

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823