SLSNZ Chairman announces High Performance Squads

Sunday, 15 March 2015

Dear members,

I am pleased to announce the athletes who have been selected for Surf Life Saving New Zealand's High Performance Squads  for 2015/2016.

The squads were named today at the conclusion of the Aquapick New Zealand Surf Life Saving Championships 2015 in Gisborne.

New Zealand Open Squad:

  1. Max Beattie                  Omanu
  2. Paul Cracroft-Wilson     Fitzroy
  3. Chris Dawson               Midway
  4. Carina Doyle                 St Clair
  5. Olivia Eaton                  Mt Maunganui
  6. Devon Halligan             Midway
  7. Kodi Harman                 Papamoa
  8. Teneale Hatton             Piha
  9. Chanel Hickman            Mairangi Bay
  10. Zoe Hobbs                    Fitzroy
  11. Jake Hurley                   Mairangi Bay
  12. Ben Johnston                Papamoa
  13. Steve Kent                    Titahi Bay
  14. Samantha Lee               Lyall Bay
  15. Marty McDowall              Titahi Bay
  16. Danielle McKenzie          Mairangi Bay
  17. Andy McMillan                St Clair
  18. Kevin Morrison               Mairangi Bay
  19. Andrew Newton             Mt Maunganui
  20. Natalie Peat                   Papamoa
  21. Laura Quilter                  Wainui
  22. Emma Robinson            Lyall Bay
  23. Matthew Scott               Midway
  24. Adam Simpson              Mt Maunganui
  25. Cory Taylor                    Midway
  26. Andrew Trembath          St Clair

Coaches: Jason Pocock
Manager: Mark Weatherall

Development Squad:

  1. Daniel Barron                Mt Maunganui
  2. Kelsi Boocock               Red Beach
  3. Baydon Botha               Mairangi Bay
  4. Libby Bradley                Mt Maunganui
  5. Maia Bryant                  Papamoa
  6. Lewis Clareburt             Lyall Bay
  7. Ben Cochrane               Omanu
  8. Rebecca Cole                Fitzroy
  9. Olivia Corrin                   Midway
  10. Mitch Cowdrey               Papamoa
  11. Ella Drinnan                  Orewa
  12. Perry Farrell                  Mt Maunganui
  13. Casie Fyall                    Waikanae
  14. Ryan Gilmour                Piha
  15. Jake Hales                   Papamoa
  16. Taris Harker                 Omanu
  17. Kurtis Imrie                   Paekakariki
  18. Seb Johnson                Sumner
  19. Grace Kaihau               Orewa
  20. Madison Kidd                Papamoa
  21. Javon McCallum           Fitzroy
  22. Briar McLeey                 Red Beach
  23. Hamish Millar                Mt Maunganui
  24. Jessica Miller                Mt Maunganui
  25. Stefah Powney              Orewa
  26. Zac Reid                       Fitzroy
  27. Kane Sefton                  Mt Maunganui
  28. Jasmine Smith              Wainui
  29. Brittany Tucker             Sumner
  30. Sophie Twigley             Midway
  31. Nico Van Der Wilt         Lyall Bay
  32. Dylan Williams              Mt Maunganui
  33. Hannah Williams           Piha
  34. Alicia Wilson                 Mt Maunganui

Both squads are selected for a 12 month period and the National Selectors reserve the right to add or remove athletes to the squads at any time.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand will be sending two teams to compete at the Lifesaving World Championships (Rescue 2016) in the Netherlands- a New Zealand Open Team and a New Zealand Youth Team.

The New Zealand Open Team, who will be fighting to retain their World Championship title from Rescue 2012 in Adelaide and Rescue 2014 in France, will be chosen from athletes in the Open Squad after training camps and further testing.

The New Zealand Youth Team will be selected from eligible athletes in both the New Zealand Open and Development Squads.

The Development Squad includes athletes who have the potential to represent New Zealand at both Open and Youth levels in the future.

Congratulations to all of the athletes that have been selected.


Geoff Hamilton
SLSNZ Chairman

For more information, please contact:

Mike Lord, Sport Manager, Surf Life Saving New Zealand
Phone 0274 571 025 or email