Surf lifesaving stars come together for first training camp

Thursday, 11 June 2015

Around 60 of New Zealand's surf lifesaving stars are coming together in Auckland this weekend for their first squad camp ahead of a busy year ahead on the High Performance calendar. 

The New Zealand Open and New Zealand Youth squads, that were named in March, will take part in the camp on Saturday and Sunday at the Millennium Institute in Mairangi Bay. 

A busy programme across the two days will include team building activities, medical screening sessions and physical training including pool and track sessions.

New Zealand Team Manager Mark Weatherall says he's looking forward to getting all of the athletes together in one place. "It's been about two years since we've had two full squads come together like this and it's a great opportunity to demonstrate our ethos of being one team," he says.

A large number of the athletes are flying in from other parts of the country as well as Australia to take part in the training camp.

The next international competition is the 2015 Sanyo Cup, to be held in Japan next month.

The New Zealand selection team of eight athletes includes Max Beattie (Omanu), Danielle McKenzie (Mairangi Bay), Cory Taylor (Midway), Zoe Hobbs (Fitzroy), Carina Doyle (St Clair), Ben Johnston (Papamoa), Jake Hurley (Mairangi Bay) and Hannah Williams (Piha).

Mr Weatherall says it's a strong side of athletes to take over to Japan who are familiar with competing on an international stage. "I'm looking forward to our first big competition since winning the Lifesaving World Cup in France last September," he says.

To keep up to date with the team squad camp over the weekend, visit the High Performance Facebook page at or on Twitter @slsnzhp.

New Zealand Open Squad

Adam Simpson, Mt Maunganui
Andrew Newton, Mt Maunganui
Andrew Trembath, St Clair
Andy McMillan, St Clair
Ben Johnston, Papamoa
Carina Doyle, St Clair
Chanel Hickman, Mairangi Bay
Chris Dawson, Midway
Cory Taylor, Midway
Danielle McKenzie, Mairangi Bay
Devon Halligan, Midway
Emma Robinson, Lyall Bay
Jake Hurley, Mairangi Bay
Kevin Morrison, Mairangi Bay
Kodi Harman, Papamoa
Laura Quilter, Wainui
Marty McDowall, Titahi Bay
Matthew Scott, Midway
Max Beattie, Omanu
Natalie Peat, Papamoa
Olivia Eaton, Mt Maunganui
Paul Cracroft-Wilson, Fitzroy
Samantha Lee, Lyall Bay
Steve Kent, Titahi Bay
Teneale Hatton, Piha
Zoe Hobbs, Fitzroy

New Zealand Development Squad

Alicia Wilson, Mt Maunganui
Baydon Botha, Mairangi Bay
Ben Cochrane, Omanu
Briar McLeey, Red Beach
Brittany Tucker, Sumner
Casie Fyall, Waikanae
Daniel Barron, Mt Maunganui
Dylan Williams, Mt Maunganui
Ella Drinnan, Orewa
Grace Kaihau, Orewa
Hamish Millar, Mt Maunganui
Hannah Williams, Piha
Jake Hales, Papamoa
Jasmine Smith, Wainui
Javon McCallum, Fitzroy
Jessica Miller, Mt Maunganui
Kane Sefton, Mt Maunganui
Kelsi Boocock, Red Beach
Kurtis Imrie, Paekakariki
Lewis Clareburt, Lyall Bay
Libby Bradley, Mt Maunganui
Madison Kidd, Papamoa
Maia Bryant, Papamoa
Mitch Cowdrey, Papamoa
Nico Van Der Wilt, Lyall Bay
Olivia Corrin, Midway
Perry Farrell, Mt Maunganui
Rebecca Cole, Fitzroy
Ryan Gilmour, Piha
Seb Johnson, Sumner
Sophie Twigley, Midway
Stefah Powney, Orewa
Taris Harker, Omanu
Zac Reid, Fitzroy

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823