Hawkes Bay to celebrate members at annual awards

Posted by SLSNZ Media on Friday, June 5, 2015

The Hawke's Bay region is getting set to celebrate the Surf Life Saving season and its members' achievements at this year's awards ceremony.

The 2015 Hawke's Bay Awards of Excellence will be held at East Pier in Napier on Sunday June 7 from 4.30pm.

Debbie Moodie, SLSNZ Club Development Officer for Hawke's Bay, says the awards are an exciting time on the calendar for local members. "It's been a great season for our local lifeguards and the awards are a great opportunity to celebrate their outstanding achievements," she says.

The three big awards for the night will be Lifeguard of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Rescue of the Year.

Nominees for Lifeguard of the Year include Chris Harrison (Ocean Beach Kiwi), Simon Kay (Pacific), Aidan Charman (Westshore) and James Laver (Waimarama).

Nominees for Volunteer of the Year include Richard Wilson (Ocean Beach Kiwi), Anne Cooper (Pacific), Jarrod Lowe (Waimarama) and Ian Horsefield (Westshore).

There will also be a host of other lifesaving and sport awards presented on the night.

Surf Life Saving Clubs in the Hawke's Bay area include Westshore, Pacific, Ocean Beach Kiwi and Waimarama. Together, they undertook 68 rescues in the 2014/15 season.


Coach of the Year
• Tessa Dever, OBK
• Biddy Wilson, OBK
• Helen Jackson, Pacific
• Michael Harman, Waimarama
• Katie Moodie, Westshore

Lifeguard of the Year
• Chris Harrison, OBK
• Simon Kay, Pacific
• Aidan Charman, Westshore
• James Laver, Waimarama

Outstanding Sportsmanship Junior Surf
• Mahina Ross, Westshore
• Ethan Kerins, OBK

Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf
• Neil Galland, Westshore
• Mike de Groot, OBK
• Toni Dunstan, Waimarama
• Ian Horsefield, Westshore

Instructor of the Year
• Andrew Callinicos, OBK
• Brian Quirk, Westshore
• Brendan Hamilton-Gibbs, Waimarama

Official of the Year
• Denys Carpenter, OBK
• Harley McLaughlin, Waimarama

Most Improved Athlete (Humes Cup)
• Mitch Jackson, OBK
• Bella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
• Liam Bowden, Westshore

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Male
• Tavis Graham, OBK
• Ben Cross, Waimarama
• Devan Flanders, Westshore

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Female
• Gabby Palmer, OBK
• Georgia Rathbone, Waimarama
• Niamh Jefferson, Westshore
• Kate O'Malley, Westshore

Legend Ironman
• Edward Parsons, OBK
• Bertie Bassett-Foss, Waimarama
• Cian Jefferson, Westshore

Legend Ironwoman
• Olivia Cox, Westshore

Volunteer of the Year
• Richard Wilson, OBK
• Anne Cooper, Pacific
• Jarrod Lowe, Waimarama
• Ian Horsefield, Westshore

Sports Person of the Year
• Scott Bicknell, OBK
• Ben Cross, Waimarama
• Cian Jefferson, Westshore

Sports Team of the Year
• Scott Bicknell & Anne Cairns, OBK
• Scott Bicknell & Williams Wilkins, OBK
• Waimarama IRB Team, Waimarama
• Westshore U21 IRB Crew, Westshore

Innovation of the Year
• Simon Kay, Pacific
• Waimarama & OBK, Waimarama

Outstanding Contribution to Powercraft
• Michael Harman, Waimarama
• Ryan Ennor, Westshore

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823
Email lisa.honeybone@surflifesaving.org.nz

« Previous Article Next Article »