New Zealand Surf Boat Crews Announced

Monday, 12 January 2015

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the surf boat crews that have been selected to represent New Zealand at the Trans-Tasman test series against Australia at Waihi on February 7. 

This will be a three race series for the men's crews and same for the open women with combined points accumulating to a champion nation who will be presented with the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge Trophy.

The three races will be made up of two long course events and one short course event. The open crews will also be accompanied by two New Zealand development crews who will race against the open crews in the three race series.

Each round of the three race series will be held following each round of the North Island Surf Boat Championships.

Around 350 athletes are expected to compete at the championships being hosted by Waihi.

Open Men - Piha swept by Mark Bourneville.
Ben Scott
Paul Gerritsen
Ben Richards
Jean Paul Smit

Open Women - Red Beach swept by Shane O'Halloran.
Ashleigh Jenkins
Madison Smith
Zita Talaic-Burgess
Kelly Andrews

Development Men - Rarangi swept by Neil Watts.
Keagen-John Saul
Matt Jackson
Michael Boon
Joseph Leper

Development Women - Muriwai swept by Ricky Butt.
Ellie David
Anamaria Clarke
Sophie Rowland
Alison Craigie

The New Zealand Surf Boat Team is to be managed by Clayton Kellett. Thank you to the selectors Craig Dillon, Geoff Hogan and Shane Radovanovich.

For more information, please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823