Sirens and Merkins take out Surf Boat Series

Monday, 23 February 2015

The New Zealand Surf Boat Series ended on a high for over the weekend for the Open Women's favourites The Red Beach Sirens who held on to their series lead, with the Mairangi Bay Merkins snatching the Open Men's title.

The fourth and final round of the series, the Piha Big Wave "Day of Giants" took place on Saturday.

While the Sirens were feeling comfortable heading into the final round with an eight point lead, it could have been anyone's game over in the Men's division.

The Mairangi Bay Merkins were sitting in fourth place after the first three rounds behind the Omanu Crackins, Orewa Thunder and Piha A. But the crew of Tim Cameron, Adam Jackson, Matt Kirke, Nick Laurie, Wayne Simeon and Terry Burbidge stepped up to take out the final round as well as the series ahead of hosts Piha and the Omanu Crackins.

Over in the Open Women's division, the Piha Pearls, with a crew of Jo Fyfe, Charlotte Sue Haskell, Gracey Monteith, Mariska Visser, Annelies Visser and sweep Mark Bourneville won the fourth round ahead of the Bethells Beach Barracudas and the Muriwai Cats.

That saw the Pearls finish in third place overall for the series behind the Red Beach Sirens and the Muriwai Cats.

Rarangi Blue took out the Under 23 Men's division and Muriwai Muzzies won the Under 23 Women's division.

In the Under 19 division, Whangamata took out the Men's title alongside the Muriwai Minis in the Women's division.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Sport Manager Mike Lord says it was an exciting series which saw some close and exhilarating racing at times. "The crews have all given their best since the first round back in November at Lyall Bay. They should all be proud of what they have achieved this season," he says.

Round Four placings:

Open Men:
Mairangi Bay SLSC Merkins (Tim Cameron, Adam Jackson, Matt Kirke, Nick Laurie, Wayne Simeon, Terrence (Terry) Burbidge) 1, Piha SC (Mark Bourneville, Paul Gerritsen, Benjamin Richards, Ben Scott, Jean-Paul Smit) 2, Red Beach SLSC Boomers (Ben Flight, Charles Graham, Shamus O'Halloran, Jed Wright, Shane (Bugsy) O'Halloran) 3.

Open Women:
Piha SC Pearls (Jo Fyfe, Charlotte Sue Haskell, Gracey Monteith, Mariska Visser, Annelies Visser, Mark Bourneville) 1, Bethells Beach SLSP Barracudas (Pia Goldsmith, Georgia Grant-Mackie, Lisa McCallum, Elina Osborne, Diana Murray, Danny Tenheuvel) 2, Muriwai LS Cats (Anamaria Clarke, Alison Craigie, Ellie David, Jessica Parkin, Sophie Rowland, Ricky Butt) 3.

Under 23 Men:
Red Beach SLSC Pirates (Max Anstis, Ryan Davenport, Rhye Jacka, Luke Tomlinson, Shane (Bugsy) O'Halloran) 1.

U23 Women:
Muriwai LS Muzzies (Andrea Gerrard, Billie-Lee Haresnape, Emma Wilson, Ashley Timko, Chris Deacon) 1, Piha SC Peaches (Kelsea Broekhuizen, Bernadine Flaxman-Hendriks, Emily Hodges, Seagh Von Keisenberg, Sophie McIntyre, Cedrick Bourneville) 2.

U19 Men:
Sunset Beach LS (Jack Boulton, Ryan Brash, Samuel Hughes, Carl Morgan, Jack Morgan, Ted (Edward Marsh) 1.

U19 Women:
Piha SC Princesses (Grace Jacob, Anna Karolczak-Young, Jordon Pope, Annie Lines, Mikaela Ryan, Phil Mason ) 1.

Points Totals: Piha SC 16, Muriwai LS 6, Red Beach SLSC 6, Mairangi Bay SLSC 5, Sunset Beach SL 5, Bethells Beach SLSP 3.

Overall Series Placings:

Open Men:
1st Mairangi Bay Merkins
2nd Piha A
3rd Omanu Crackins

Open Women:
1st Red Beach Sirens
2nd Muriwai Cats
3rd Piha Black Pearls

U23 Men:
1st Rarangi Blue
2nd Red Beach Pirates
3rd Waihi

U23 Women:
1st Muriwai Muzzies
2nd Orewa Stars
3rd New Brighton Honey Beez

U19 Men:
1st Whangamata
2nd Waihi
3rd Sunset Beach

U19 Women:
1st Muriwai Minis
2nd Piha Princesses
3rd Orewa Aces

For more information please contact:

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823