2014 service award recipients announced

Tuesday, 16 September 2014

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is pleased to announce the club members who will be honoured with Service Awards at the 2014 Awards of Excellence.

Every year, a number of Service, Distinguished Service, 50 Year Badges and Life Memberships are given to Surf Life Saving members to officially recognise them for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

Holders of the SLSNZ Service Award have given outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a period of years while holders of the Distinguished Service Award have continued to give outstanding service to Surf Life Saving at club, regional, or national level over a further period of years.

The 50 Year Badge is given to members who have dedicated 50 years of service to Surf Life Saving within New Zealand and Life Memberships are awarded to those members who have been active members for at least 25 years and who have provided exemplary service at a national level.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand CEO Paul Dalton says recipients of the Service Awards are dedicated members who have given countless hours to their community. "We look forward to giving them the recognition they deserve at the annual awards dinner this weekend," he says.

The following members will be honoured at the 2014 Awards of Excellence evening which is being held at the Amora Hotel in Wellington this Saturday, September 20.

Service Awards:
• Gail Abel, United North Piha
• Henry Backhouse-Smith, Bethells Beach
• Kris Black, Spencer Park
• Ricky Butt, Muriwai
• Dave Comp, Bethells Beach
• Craig Dillon, Red Beach
• Kylan Dray-Winter, Bethells Beach
• Mason Dray-Hogg, Bethells Beach
• Helen Dudding, Lyall Bay
• Alton Gallagher, Sunset Beach
• Paul Knight, United North Piha
• Rachel Johnstone, Sunset Beach
• Ted (Edward) Marsh, Sunset Beach
• Duncan McKenzie, Mairangi Bay
• Travis Mitchell, Mairangi Bay
• Steve O'Connor, Whakatane
• Peter Olsen, Red Beach
• Chris Rudd, Fitzroy
• Warren Smith, Piha
• James Taylor, Sunset Beach
• Michael Taylor, Red Beach
• Dion Williams, Wainui

Distinguished Service Award:
• Stephen Butler, United North Piha
• Paul Carlyon, Otaki
• Kim Nilsson, Waimarama
• Matthew Pickering, Papamoa
• Malcolm Rowson, Whakatane
• Rex Taylor, United North Piha
• Mark Weatherall, Brighton
• Kurt Wilson, Papamoa

50 Year Badge:
• Malcolm Beattie, Sunset Beach
• Warren Clow, Fitzroy
• Barry Coleman, Waimarama
• Denis Cooksley, Mairangi Bay
• Terry Dell, Mt Maunganui
• Wok (Warwick) Donnelly, Mairangi Bay
• Marie Flavell, Mangawhai Heads
• Ian Maclaine, Waipu Cove
• Lynette McFedries, Otaki
• Napier McFedries, Otaki
• Arthur Tong, Whakatane
• David Lean, NPOB
• Warwick Jones, Pacific

Life Membership:
• John (Spindles) Bryant, Mt Maunganui
• Ronald (Ron) Valentine, Paekakariki

For more information please contact: 

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823