2014 Awards of Excellence finalists announced

Tuesday, 9 September 2014

Surf Life Saving New Zealand is getting set to celebrate the 2013-14 season at this year's Awards of Excellence.

The awards evening will be held at the Amora Hotel in Wellington on Saturday September 20 following the SLSNZ Annual General Meeting and Club Chairs Strategy Meeting.

Every year, national and local awards are given to Surf Life Saving members to officially recognise them for their hard work and dedication to Surf Life Saving in New Zealand.

Most awards are nominated locally with winners then becoming finalists for the national Awards of Excellence.

Some of the night's top awards include NZ Lottery Grants Board Lifeguard of the Year, DHL Volunteer of the Year and the BP Surf Rescue of the Year.

As Patron of Surf Life Saving New Zealand, the Governor General Lieutenant General Sir Jerry Mateparae will present a speech at the awards evening and TV presenter Stephen McIvor will act as MC.

Three national sports awards have already been presented at the 2014 New Zealand Pool Championships on August 30. The three winners are unable to attend this year's awards evening in Wellington as they will be in France for the Lifesaving World Championships (Rescue 2014).

Along with the lifeguarding and sporting awards, there will be a number of Service Awards presented on the night and these will be announced next week.

Top award finalists:

NZLGB Lifeguard of the Year
• Faron Turner, Orewa
• Danielle Shepherd, Mt Maunganui
• Matthew Kerr, Tairua
• Andrew Shelton, Waikanae
• Jacob Crawley, Ocean Beach Kiwi
• Ross Peters, Fitzroy
• Nick Mulcahy, Titahi Bay
• Dan Bromley, Taylors Mistake
• Ossian Woods, St. Clair

DHL Volunteer of the Year
• John Chapman, Orewa
• Jono York, Omanu
• Katherine McLean, Onemana
• Debbie Hutchings, Waikanae
• Pilar Kruger, Ocean Beach Kiwi
• Liam Cole, East End
• Peter Jones, Titahi Bay
• Stephen Johnston, Waimairi
• Seth McPhee, Brighton

BP Rescue of the Year
• Whakatane
• Bethells
• Orewa
• Kariaotahi
• Titahi Bay
• Pauanui

State Insurance Instructor of the Year
• Lauren Gibbs, Bethells Beach
• Garry King, Mount Maunganui
• Steph Peploe, Pauanui
• Ashleigh Hurring, Waikanae
• Jess Bennett, Ocean Beach Kiwi
• Fiona Climo, East End
• Troy Greenham, Lyall Bay
• Hannah Laughton, Waimairi
• Tarn Neuman, Warrington

Innovation of the Year
• Bethells Beach
• Mt Maunganui
• Hot Water Beach
• Wainui
• Pacific
• Fitzroy
• Riversdale

DHL Surf Official of the Year (already announced)
• Dave Shanks, Orewa
• Ross Merrett, Papamoa (winner)
• Alistair Thorpe, Waikanae
• Denys Carpenter, Pacific
• Grant Crossan, East End
• Ron Valentine, Paekakariki
• Blair Dickson, South Brighton
• Dennis Trembath, Brighton

DHL Coach of the Year (already announced)
• Shane O'Halloran, Red Beach
• Kurt Wilson, Papamoa (winner)
• Dion Williams, Wainui
• Ben Cross, Waimarama
• Katie Watts, Fitzroy
• Shane Radovanovich, Paekakariki
• Fraser Bickley, Taylors Mistake
• Monique Francois, St. Clair

State Insurance International Sports Performance (already announced)
• Samantha Lee, Lyall Bay

For more information please contact: 

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823