Surf Boat Series opens in style

Monday, 1 December 2014

Over 50 crews descended on Lyall Bay over the weekend for the opening round of the New Zealand Surf Boat Series, the Wellington Super Surf Boat event.

On the first day of racing, hot favourites the Red Beach Sirens with a crew of Kelly Andrew, Katrina Gouldstone, Ashleigh Jenkins, Madison Smith, Zita Talaic-Burgess and sweep Shane O'Halloran took out the Open Women's division.

In the Open Men's division, it was the Muriwai Mongols team of Liam McMaster, Thomas Belgrave and Chris Deacon who took to the top of the podium.

In the Under 23's, it was the New Brighton Honey Beez who took the Women's title and the Rarangi Blue for the Men's. 

Whangamata looked strong and took first place in the Under 19 Men's while the Muriwai Minis took gold in the Women's division.

On Sunday morning, around 10 crews took part in a marathon event where crews rowed out of Lyall Bay and west along Wellington's South coast to Island Bay, around the island and back to Lyall Bay, finishing with a short run up the beach.

The weekend's event also doubled as the first selection event for the New Zealand and New Zealand Development crews.

Surf Life Saving New Zealand Sport Manager Mike Lord says the weekend brought about a few surprise results. "This first event in the series shows who has done the work over the winter months to maintain their fitness for the season. It was a great weekend and it was fantastic to see Wellington turn on the weather which also bought out a good number of supporters to kick-off the series in style," he says.

The next event in the series, the Whangamata Surf Boat Spectacular, will take place on January 2, 2015 followed by the North Island Surf Boat Championships from February 7-8, 2015 and the Piha Big Wave Classic on February 21, 2015.


Open Men's
Muriwai Mongols (1), North Beach Beavers (2), New Brighton Killa Beez (3)

Open Women's
Red Beach Sirens (1), North Beach Black Betty (2), Muriwai Cats (3)

Under 23 Men
Rarangi Blue (1), Red Beach Pirates (2), Lyall Bay Lil Boys (3)

Under 23 Women
New Brighton Honey Beez (1), Muriwai Muzzies (2), Titahi Bay Tims Tarts (3)

Under 19 Men
Whangamata (1), Waihi Beach (2), Sunset Beach A (3).

Under 19 Women
Murwai Minis (1), Titahi Bay Tigers (2), Orewa Aces (3)

For more information please contact: 

Lisa Honeybone, Media & Communications Specialist, SLSNZ
Phone 09 303 9335 or 0276 488 823