Clubbies compete at Canoe Sprint World Championships

Tuesday, 27 August 2013

Eight clubbies will join around 1,200 athletes from 90 countries tomorrow to compete at the ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships in Duisburg, Germany.

The competition commences with the Para events where Scott Martlew (South Brighton) will compete in the K1 200m.  Scott has been training in the Czech Republic with his coach Leigh Barker for the past month and they are both are pleased with his progress.

At the last World Championship Scott, the youngest paddler in the Open Men's division, placed a creditable fifth - something he is hoping to better in this competition.

Scott was somewhat hindered in his training early last week due to hospitalisation for severe asthma brought on by a local pollen.

Ahead of the International Surf Rescue Challenge (ISRC) in Japan next month, New Zealand team member Lisa Carrington (Mt Maunganui) will race over the two distances of her World Cup success. Her focus is her favoured 200m event on Friday but she will also contest the 500m on Thursday.

Hot off the Under 23 World Champs in Canada, development squad member Zac Quickenden (South Brighton) will be aiming to progress through to the A finals for his 1000m race with fellow Men's K4 team members Darryl Fitzgerald (Waikanae) Jasper Bats (Otaki) and Jarrod Fitzgerald (Waikanae).

Teneale Hatton (Orewa) along with team mate Rachael Dodwell (Mairangi Bay) will be concentrating on their K2 500m race and hoping to make the A finals against a very competitive field.

The competition runs though until Sunday (September 1) and coverage of the events will be broadcast on the German Kanutube channel

SKY Sport 4 coverage

Finals Day 1: Saturday 31st August, 8.55pm and 1.15am (Sunday 1 September)
Finals Day 2: Sunday 1 September, 8.50pm & 12.20am (Monday 2 September)

For more information visit the Canoe Racing website.

Participating Surf Life Saving Club members

  • Lisa Carrington, Mt Maunganui
  • Zac Quickenden, South Brighton
  • Teneale Hatton, Orewa
  • Darryl Fitzgerald, Waikanae
  • Jarrod Fitzgerald, Waikanae
  • Jasper Bats, Otaki
  • Rachael Dodwell, Mairangi Bay
  • Scott Martlew, South Brighton