Sonic Race Series Winners

Posted by Administrator on Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Congratulations to the winners of the inaugural Sonic Race Series events!

The Grand Final of the Sonic Race Series Ironman was raced during Oceans 12 event on Saturday 25 February.

After leading through the qualifying rounds Maddie Boon (Mairangi Bay) continued her dominance to take out the womens title, while Cory Taylor (Midway) came from behind to beat qualifying rounds leader AJ Maney (Red Beach) up the beach and take the mens title.

Maddie and Cory each won a custom made Sonic paddle board which was presented to them at the event -view the media release here.

Winners from the events contested over five rounds will be awarded their prize packs on day 1 of the State New Zealand Surf Life Saving Championships, Friday 16 March 2012 at Midway Beach, Gisborne.

Thank you to everyone who raced in the Sonic Series - we look forward to an even bigger series next year!

2012 Sonic Race Series Winners:

Open Mens Ironman

Cory Taylor

Midway SLSC

Open Womens Ironman

Madison Boon

Mairangi Bay SLSC

Open Mens Board Race

Andrew Newton

Mt Maunganui LS

Open Womens Board Race

Danielle McKenzie

Mairangi Bay SLSC

Open Mens Ski Race

Scott Bicknell

Ocean Beach Kiwi SP

Open Womens Ski Race

Madison Boon

Mairangi Bay SLSC

Open Mens Surf Race

Dylan French

Red Beach SLSC

Open Womens Surf Race

Natalie Peat

Papamoa SR

Open Mens Beach Sprints

Vaughan Roberts

Mairangi Bay SLSC

Open Womens  Beach Sprints

Arna Wright

Mt Maunganui LS

Open Mens Beach Flags

James Banhidi

Mt Maunganui LS

Open Womens Beach Flags

Arna Wright

Mt Maunganui LS

« Previous Article Next Article »