Smaller surf clubs shine amid Mount gloom

Thursday, 23 February 2012

Some of the smaller surf lifesaving clubs got a chance to shine on the first day of the Oceans under-14 New Zealand championships in Mount Maunganui today.

Mangawhai Heads, Waihi Beach and Worser Bay all picked up points against the larger clubs in driving rain and large seas at the Bay of Plenty venue, with finals completed in the beach flags and run-swim-run events.

Mangawhai Heads was again led by Auckland representative Hannah Williams, who won the under-14 run-swim-run, while Lochlainn O'Connor picked up a meritorious win in the under-11 boys for Waihi Beach.  Worser Bay, based in Wellington, had the Oolders siblings to thank for their points, meanwhile, with Katie Oolders grabbing second behind Red Beach star Jade Tuilaepa in the under-12 beach flags and Tom Oolders finishing third in the under-14 boys beach flags, behind Lewis Gjatema (Red Beach) and East End's Javon McCallum.

Gjatema and Tuilaepa both helped Red Beach to an early lead in the four-day carnival, although they were well supported by a string of podium placings throughout both events.

Omanu are in second place thanks to their under-11 beach flags dominance - William van der Beek won the boys and Jordan York was third, while Ella Pollock won the girls.  Kane Sefton completed a good day for the local club by winning the under-14 boys run-swim-run.

The best news for organiers is that clearing skies and dropping swells are forecast for Mount Maunganui over the next three days.4

V 2JTPIX_Day 1_Oceans 29

East End's Javon McCallum (left) battles with Lewis Gjatema (Red Beach) in the final of the under-14 beach flags. 
Photo by Jamie Troughton/Dscribe Journalism. 


Beach flags:

Under-11: Boys: William van der Beek (Omanu) 1, Bronson Gleye (Red Beach) 2, Jordan York (Omanu) 3. Girls: Ella Pollock (Omanu) 1, Sophie Hildesley (Red Beach) 2, Camryn Birley (Red Beach) 3.

Under-12: Boys: Ishmael Banse Perkins (Paekakariki) 1, Rowan Gjaltema (Red Beach) 2, Conor Bradding (Whangamata) 3. Girls: Jade Tuilaepa (Red Beach) 1, Katie Oolders (Worser Bay) 2, Maisie Lundon Moore (Fitzroy) 3.

Under-13: Boys: Joshua Adams (Waikanae) 1, Felix Burns (Wainui) 2, Liam Stephenson (Omanu) 3. Girls: Libby Bradley (Mt Maunganui) 1, Stephanie Sumner (Muriwai) 2, Anna Ellingham (Wainui) 3.

Under-14: Boys: Lewis Gjatema (Red Beach) 1, Javon McCallum (East End) 2, Tom Oolders (Worser Bay) 3. Girls: Kelsey Lewis (Orewa) 1, Eva Gibson (Omanu) 2, Emma Maru Maru Flynn (Omanu) 3.


Under-11: Boys: Lochlainn O'Connor (Waihi Beach) 1, Keegan Joe (NPOB) 2, Thomas Hacker (Mt Maunganui) 3. Girls: Bernadette Doyle (Mairangi Bay) 1, Alaynah Bettany (Lyall Bay) 2, Lucy Makeea (Orewa) 3.

Under-12: Boys: Zac Reid (NPOB) 1, Mitch Cowdrey (Papamoa) 2, Conor Bradding (Whangamata) 3. Girls: Grace Kaihau (Orewa) 1, Zaniah Bettany (Lyall Bay) 2, Jade Tuilaepa (Red Beach) 3.

Under-13: Boys: Scott Fairbairn (Mairangi Bay) 1, George Williams (Mt Maunganui) 2, Daniel Barron (NPOB) 3. Girls: Katie Trott (Paekakariki) 1, Malia Josephson (Papamoa) 2, Maia Bryant (Papamoa) 3.

Under-14: Boys: Kane Sefton (Omanu) 1, Izaak Scheib (Red Beach) 2,  Jack Virtue (Wainui) 3. Girls: Hannah Williams (Mangawhai Heads) 1, Renee Lawton (Paekakariki) 2, Tori Watt (Lyall Bay) 3.

Points: Red Beach 16, Omanu 14, Paekakariki 8, Orewa 7, Mairangi Bay 6, Mt Maunganui 6, NPOB 6, Lyall Bay 5, Papamoa 5, Wainui 4, Mangawhai Heads 3, Waihi Beach 3, Worser Bay 3, Waikanae 3, East End 2, Whangamata 2, Muriwai 2, Fitzroy 1.